We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Hole Gem Mine

Jackson Hole Gem Mine
9770 Highlands Road, Highlands, NC 28741
828.524.5850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 19 Attractions in Highlands
Type: Mines, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jackson Hole Gem Mine has been a family owned business since it was built in 1952. We are located exactly 9 miles from beautiful downtown Highlands, and 9 miles from downtown Franklin. We are 1/3 of a mile from the breathtaking Cullasaja Falls (means "sweetwater" in Cherokee). Also, 5 miles from Dry Falls (seen in The Last of the Mohicans). Our guests can browse our huge rock shop and gift store, or eat hot boiled peanuts on our front porch overlooking the beautiful Cullasaja River. Our gem mine is all weather fun for the whole family. Macon County is considered the "Gem Capital of the World" for a reason! Come and buy a bucket to sift! Small Buckets are $10 each, and one per person. Ultimate Buckets are $30 each or 2 for $50. These buckets are big and can be shared! We also have a $100 Bucket Club. This bucket is great for families. With this, you receive a $45 free cut of a gemstone that you find! Chuck is a master lapidary and we can help you choose what would be the best thing in your find to cut! We are handicapped accessible and very kid/pet friendly.
Picayune, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great time mining for gems at the Jackson Hole Gem Mine on the Cullasaja Gorge road between HIghlands and Franklin, NC. We bought the large bucket to share between two kids, it was plenty big enough! found lots of quartz and other gems to take home, You can have them cut on site should you wish to turn it into a precious stone momento!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Buckets of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have had many friends take our advice and stop at Jackson Hole Gem Mine in Highlands, N.C. and all have said it was the most fun they've had in a long time! They also said they found bigger and better gem stones than anywhere else and the people there were all polite and most helpful! Put it on your list and ask for Linda...she's great!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Gem Mining in North Carolina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

By far the best gem mining location I've ever been too. We bought a $100 bucket and found SOOOOOO many gems. We also went ahead and had a necklace made from a gem that we found. Friendly staff and service. Awesome place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORTENSE
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Have been to better Gem Mining Places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went here because it was very easy to access, and on the way to the waterfalls we were visiting. It is a clean and easy place to visit, but the prices are a bit high(we spent $75) and we didn't really find much. They were very busy and the workers didn't really have time to help everyone. The store attached has lots of add on sales options, so keep the kids outside! If you really want to look for gems, go to another place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bait and switch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The panning was fun and the staff was knowledgeable but the sales tactics were pushy and fishy. Every time you asked something they tried to upsell you or tell you that you should have bought some other kind of deal. Fun but BEWARE!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Hole Gem Mine also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jackson Hole Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Hole Gem Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.