We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been to better Gem Mining Places” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Hole Gem Mine

Jackson Hole Gem Mine
9770 Highlands Road, Highlands, NC 28741
828.524.5850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 19 Attractions in Highlands
Type: Mines
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Jackson Hole Gem Mine has been a family owned business since it was built in 1952. We are located exactly 9 miles from beautiful downtown Highlands, and 9 miles from downtown Franklin. We are 1/3 of a mile from the breathtaking Cullasaja Falls (means "sweetwater" in Cherokee). Also, 5 miles from Dry Falls (seen in The Last of the Mohicans). Our guests can browse our huge rock shop and gift store, or eat hot boiled peanuts on our front porch overlooking the beautiful Cullasaja River. Our gem mine is all weather fun for the whole family. Macon County is considered the "Gem Capital of the World" for a reason! Come and buy a bucket to sift! Small Buckets are $10 each, and one per person. Ultimate Buckets are $30 each or 2 for $50. These buckets are big and can be shared! We also have a $100 Bucket Club. This bucket is great for families. With this, you receive a $45 free cut of a gemstone that you find! Chuck is a master lapidary and we can help you choose what would be the best thing in your find to cut! We are handicapped accessible and very kid/pet friendly.
HORTENSE
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Have been to better Gem Mining Places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went here because it was very easy to access, and on the way to the waterfalls we were visiting. It is a clean and easy place to visit, but the prices are a bit high(we spent $75) and we didn't really find much. They were very busy and the workers didn't really have time to help everyone. The store attached has lots of add on sales options, so keep the kids outside! If you really want to look for gems, go to another place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bait and switch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The panning was fun and the staff was knowledgeable but the sales tactics were pushy and fishy. Every time you asked something they tried to upsell you or tell you that you should have bought some other kind of deal. Fun but BEWARE!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped by for an unplanned visit while driving from Franklin to Highlands. The gift shop has a lot of jewelry and touristy stuff. The pricing is straightforward for the buckets of dirt for the gem mining and is in line with others in the area. We were instructed and coached throughout the visit and they took time to give individualized instruction to my sons, including a little extra for my son with a disability. The shop keeper was engaging, informative and personable. We will stop in again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great time finding some good rubies, emeralds etc. Even found a moon stone which they say is quite rare. Lots of good family fun!

We bought the $25 large buckets. Smaller one available for $10

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Adults would have a good time here but if you have children then definitely take them here. I took my 7 and 5 year old boys and they had a blast. After you find your gems you have the option to get one or two cut into stones for jewelry to make momma happy as well. We were sore from hiking in the area. Lots of hikes and different activities to do in Highlands and this is at the top of the list. I had low expectations but was very pleasantly surprised.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Hole Gem Mine also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jackson Hole Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Hole Gem Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.