We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the kids !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Hole Gem Mine

Jackson Hole Gem Mine
9770 Highlands Road, Highlands, NC 28741
828.524.5850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 18 attractions in Highlands
Type: Mines
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Jackson Hole Gem Mine has been a family owned business since it was built in 1952. We are located exactly 9 miles from beautiful downtown Highlands, and 9 miles from downtown Franklin. We are 1/3 of a mile from the breathtaking Cullasaja Falls (means "sweetwater" in Cherokee). Also, 5 miles from Dry Falls (seen in The Last of the Mohicans). Our guests can browse our huge rock shop and gift store, or eat hot boiled peanuts on our front porch overlooking the beautiful Cullasaja River. Our gem mine is all weather fun for the whole family. Macon County is considered the "Gem Capital of the World" for a reason! Come and buy a bucket to sift! Small Buckets are $10 each, and one per person. Ultimate Buckets are $30 each or 2 for $50. These buckets are big and can be shared! We also have a $100 Bucket Club. This bucket is great for families. With this, you receive a $45 free cut of a gemstone that you find! Chuck is a master lapidary and we can help you choose what would be the best thing in your find to cut! We are handicapped accessible and very kid/pet friendly.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Take the kids !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have taken grandkids of all ages at different times and it is just a good time. Watch how the parents start to get into the action too ! Old time rockers are set around...for "old time rockers" to watch ! Workers are very helpful as some of the unlovely looking stones could be an emerald, etc. Buy the big buckets, they are worth the extra time sorting. At home rinse the stones and spread them out. They sparkle and the kids ooo and ahhh.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great weath of information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I entered the Jackson Hole Gem Mine knowing very little about gems, their natural state, the variety of kinds, and the process of how they are cut and polished to reveal their inner beauty and the work that goes into making them "shine". The staff here are exceptional in spending time to explain everything, something I really appreciated. Before I left there was a family of four who purchased a bucket of sand and gems for I believe was $10-$15 and left with a variety of gems that were worth much more, a win-win plus they genually appeared to be having a lot of fun sifting to find their hidden treasure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“Cherry Cider!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The only reason we pulled into this Trading Post/Gem Mine was because we were dying of thirst, having just forged our way to the bottom and back of Cullasaja Falls. They lured us with free samples of their cherry and apple ciders. We were HOOKED; leaving with three jugs of the Cherry Cider. Those receiving this liquid yum back home are already screaming for more!

In addition to a large selection of souvenirs and local tasty jarred jams and relishes, the trading post clerks were soooooooooooo helpful in directing us to other nearby attractions and good eats. Their advice to indulge in the barbecue at 'Fat Buddies' in Franklin was spot-on!

What an unexpected 'treasure' of a place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“KIDS CAMP.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice place to take kids to mine. It is a salted mine, so you are guaranteed to get something. The prices are pretty good as well. We all found some nice gems. They even cut and polish and make jewelry there. They have a gift shop as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gem mining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fun to wash the sand and find "treasure". Also a variety of gifts to buy such as jewelry, stones, wind chimes. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Hole Gem Mine also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jackson Hole Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Hole Gem Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jackson Hole Gem Mine to your Saves list