We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“digging in the dirt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Hole Gem Mine

Jackson Hole Gem Mine
9770 Highlands Road, Highlands, NC 28741
828.524.5850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 20 things to do in Highlands
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jackson Hole Gem Mine has been a family owned business since it was built in 1952. We are located exactly 9 miles from beautiful downtown Highlands, and 9 miles from downtown Franklin. We are 1/3 of a mile from the breathtaking Cullasaja Falls (means "sweetwater" in Cherokee). Also, 5 miles from Dry Falls (seen in The Last of the Mohicans). Our guests can browse our huge rock shop and gift store, or eat hot boiled peanuts on our front porch overlooking the beautiful Cullasaja River. Our gem mine is all weather fun for the whole family. Macon County is considered the "Gem Capital of the World" for a reason! Come and buy a bucket to sift! Small Buckets are $10 each, and one per person. Ultimate Buckets are $30 each or 2 for $50. These buckets are big and can be shared! We also have a $100 Bucket Club. This bucket is great for families. With this, you receive a $45 free cut of a gemstone that you find! Chuck is a master lapidary and we can help you choose what would be the best thing in your find to cut! We are handicapped accessible and very kid/pet friendly.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“digging in the dirt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The gem mine offers some beautiful gem stones and a fun experience for young and old alike. Once you have found your gems, experts tell you what you have and guide you thru the pleasure of cutting your stones and even setting them for you. There are also wonderful mtn crafts as well as jellies, jams and more! It is a must stop when in the western NC mtns. The people there are all very nice and friendly!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Turn on the fun rain or shine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This covered gem panning spot is just a short drive from Highlands. If you are waterfall hunting it is located just one third a mile above the Cullasaja Falls on Hwy. 28 & US 64, halfway between Franklin and Highlands. The owners Chuck and Jane Green are friendly folks too making sure you are having a good time when you visit. There is no admission fee and you can sit at the sluice and buy your buckets from ten dollars and up to pan the material that contains both native and enriched gemstones. You can also count on spending lots of time browsing the store next to the panning area. Enjoy the rocking chairs on the front porch. If you're hungry grab a snack and a drink and prepare to relax. All the equipment you need is supplied and the staff helps you identify your finds! My wife ended up getting a pendent made out of a citrine she found and had cut! The Jackson Hole Gem Mine is open 10am to 4pm from May 1 to November 1.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“on the way out...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped at Jackson Hole Gem Mine as we were returning home. It wasn't our type place, gem mining and such. But seemed to be enjoyed by others there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I were very surprised at how much fun panning for gems was. We thought it might be corny for just the two of us to gem mine but are so glad we went! We purchased 2 buckets for $50 and had a competition on who could find more gems. We were there for about an hour and found tons of emeralds and amethysts, a few rubies, one sapphire, and a whole bunch of other stones. The panning area is covered, lighted and offered plenty of seating. We went on a Monday morning and were the only ones there.

Jackson Hole offers specials on cuttings and settings, and even offers mail-order service so you can mail your stones in for cutting whenever you choose. We were staying in Highlands and couldn't find another gem shop that cut stones, so Jackson Hole might be the closest option for cutting if you're planning on cutting while on holiday.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Was worried my teen and pre-teen were too old for gem mining, but what a fun activity! Staff was very friendly and helpful too. Identified our finds and made sure we didn't throw anything important away. Found rubies, sapphires, garnets, amethysts, emeralds, and more. Shared just one $30 bucket, plenty for 2.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson Hole Gem Mine also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jackson Hole Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Hole Gem Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.