We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands Smokehouse

Highlands Smokehouse
595 Franklin Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8553
828-526-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 46 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We love the smokehouse and visit once or twice a week when in Cashiers and Highlands area. Almost everything on the menu is good. Great dining room and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    58
    17
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait a few minutes to be seated even with place about a third empty. Only two servers were covering the dining room and the bar, so they were feeling a little overwhelmed. They told us before seating that they were out of ribs, nice of them to warn customers up front. Had chopped brisket and BLT sandwiches which we both liked very much. Sides we tried were fries and the Mac and cheese, both were hot and excellent. They have a good selection of craft beer on draft so that finished off the whole meal for us. The wait for food wasn't very long but we went understanding that sometimes they have a wait so we just enjoyed football on one of the several large TVs and sipped our pints. A fine meal!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at Highlands Smokehouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were 6 of us for lunch on August 30, 2013. We were seated promply and our drink orders taken. It took a long time after the orders for dinner were taken to get the food. I had the brisket and it was very good. The sides were just ok however some that were to be hot were room temperature.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once is definitely enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our annual visit to Highlands in early August 2013 my husband, daughter, and I were looking for a local restaurant to have dinner. We found Smokehouse and decided to give it a try. BIG MISTAKE!!! We were seated in a timely manner, and our server was very prompt. Our drinks arrived and the tea was not very good. Our server gladly brought us other drinks. When our food arrived both my husband and I had the wrong side items. Our server apologized and gladly corrected the error. My daughter ordered the barbeque, which was delicious! My husband ordered the smoked turkey sandwich and sweet potatoes, both of which were cold. The turkey was so tough he could not tear the meat, actually it was completely inedible. My pulled chicken, corn pudding, and greens were all room temperature at best. Our server took my husband's food, but never asked how ours was. He offered to have the kitchen prepare my husband another dish to which he declined. Our server then approached the manager and had a conversation with her. She never came to our table to try to discuss this horrible experience. She did, however. bring our ice cream to the table when our server was unavailable, but still offered no apologies for our experience. The service was outstanding, it's unfortunate the rest of the restaurant is not as customer oriented as our server. NEVER AGAIN WILL WE VISIT THIS ESTABLISHMENT!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Q and good beers too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

When traveling, my husband and I try to find out where local folks go since those restaurants tend to have the best food and are reasonably priced. One of the guys at the local golf course pro shop recommended Highlands Smokehouse and it was everything he said it would be. We arrived about 1:15 on a Monday and the place was very busy. New server (4 days) but very willing to find answers to our questions about the beers on tap. Had Mother Earth Brewery's Revelation4118. Tasty!

Decided to try the hickory smoked wings and was NOT disappointed, Wow, these were some of the best wings and I'm not a smoked chicken lover. Moist and flavorful. Lunch was the beef brisket tips sandwich and pulled pork sandwich. Again, some of the best Q we've ever had. If potato salad is the vegetable of the day, get it. You won't be disappointed. Everything was so good that we ordered a rack of ribs to go for dinnet as we stay about 15 miles away on wiindy roads from the restaurant. Will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Smokehouse also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Highlands Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.