We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale takeout food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Fresh Grocery

Mountain Fresh Grocery
521 East Main Street, Highlands, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Grill/Deli in gourmet grocery store.
Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upscale takeout food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The food was good, there were plenty of choices, and either call ahead to order or don't go during mealtime rush hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    91
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We did the take-out dinner twice. You get enough food for dinner for two plus at least a lunch with the leftovers. We had the BBQ with sides one night for about $25 for two and the prime ribs with salad and baked potatoes for about $33 for two. Both were quite tasty. We definitely will be returning.
This Grocery is more like a deli and catering place with a few grocery items. There are pizzas to order, deli items, wine bar, ice cream, etc

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate breakfast or lunch here everyday for our five day visit. Everything is cooked fresh right in front of you. Great eggs, french toast for breakfast. Huge delicious hamburgers and fries or wonderful big salads for lunch. Expect to wait in line 10-15 minutes to order as this place is very popular -- worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place for visitors and travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We always make sure we stop at the Mountain fresh for a meal when visiting the area. You know it is good when so many locals eat here. Try the chicken tenders. We split the chicken tenders salad. don't forget to buy some local honey to take home!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't go if there's a line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Asked how long line would take when we first came in, they said about 10 min. Thirty minutes later, I pick up the hamburger that is large in size but quite dry. French fries hand cut and prepared well. More if a marketplace with beers on tap and unique grocery items available. Nice selection of olive oils to choose from.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Fresh Grocery also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mountain Fresh Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Fresh Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.