We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic Pizza.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Place of Highlands

Pizza Place of Highlands
365 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741
(828) 526-5660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Scaly Mountain, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Eclectic Pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have eaten at Pizza Place numerous times and it has been really good in the past and still is. But oh my goodness tonight I had the Mamma Mia Cranberry. I was looking for something a little different and it was described as an olive oil base with cranberries, pecans, gorgonzola cheese, and red onions. I added chicken cause I could, and it was the best pizza I have ever eaten. Seriously. I ordered my hubby the jalapeno popper pizza and though a little hot, it was good too. I love the cool combinations they have come up with. I can't wait to try some of the other offerings here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I order pizza to go and it was fantastic. It took a little more time than what they said, but it completely worth the wait (20 min). On their defense it was Friday after Thanksgiving. The pizza was delicious, and even this morning, cold from refrigerator...hehehehe

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's Papa John's people!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I read various reviews throwing around words like awesome, great and authentic (...authentic to Domino's is even a stretch) - if you've ever had REALLY good, authentic pizza, this is NOT the place to find it. It's fine if you're looking for fast food pizza but given the other great food offerings in this small town, I was surprised this place wasn't better. For anyone who wants to open a real pizza joint in Highlands, you will have absolutely no competition. Now, I'm off to Subway to get a real, authentic sub hero.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“GREAT PIZZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hit the Pizza Place on our last night. We walked in at 7:45 and had no wait, we ordered our Pizza and had a few beers while it was being cooked. Awesome staff (Gave me a remote to one of their many flat screens so I could check some college football scores) GREAT experience. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it! Will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Though it does not look like much from the outside, the Pizza Place was a great find! Service was much more than we expected...friendly and helped us with the options as this was our first visit. Sounds like most people get the flat bread style, but we prefer traditional or deep dish. I ordered the greek pizza and my wife got the Hawaiian. The chef came out proactively to check on the pizza's since they normally do those on flatbread and wanted to ensure they were fully cooked. The greek was just EXCELLENT!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Place of Highlands also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pizza Place of Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Place of Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.