We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza with a very casual atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Place of Highlands

Pizza Place of Highlands
365 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741
(828) 526-5660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza with a very casual atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent a 3 day weekend camping in Highlands, the mountains are beautiful! However as a place that is largely supported by tourism we felt snubbed by the locals on more than one occasion. True we smelled of camp fire and could have probably benefited from a razor and hairdryer but that is what camping is about.....alright about the restaurant, right? It was a delight to find this little gem with it's out of date 80's plastic seating and bad lighting. We were finally accepted without being given a look. With that said the place is very casual, great for friends hanging out, great for families, not so much for a romantic evening though. The menu was amazing specialty pizzas are available as well as create your own of course, we had 3 in our party so we each chose a different 6" to sample and all three were excellent. They also serve beer which was a plus for us and the GA game was on, I would def. go here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent made-to-order pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This pizza was fantastic and hit the spot tonight after a long day of hiking. Good cold beer selection. We got Stella, but they have others, including PBR. The cook made our crust extra thin upon request and the sauce was great, not sweet, and the pizza came loaded with cheese. Perfect!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value and great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The atmosphere here is not what you would expect for Highlands. However, this place has always delivered consistent pizza. This time we tried a gyro sandwich and it was great. We also tried the white pizza "to go" and it was excellent. They also serve beer. It's a great value if you have kids with you!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
2 reviews
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

By fAr we always have to go to this Place. It's so authentic. Don't think we've had anything on the menu that we wouldn't order again. The pizza is our fav but the pasta dishes are always so uniquely prepared and fresh. Its a great little place to grab a great little carb load before you hike those hills or walk the falls. Definitely on our list to eat when we visit Highlands!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a great place for pizza and subs during our stay at the Old Edwards Inn. We got take out to eat in our room, and even though they were packed, we didn't have long to wait for our food. Very good pizza!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Place of Highlands also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pizza Place of Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Place of Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.