We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like VIP Guests and look forward to our return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Laurel Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Laurel Rest
68 Shoal Creek Road, Highlands, NC 28775   |  
Hotel amenities
Martinez, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We were treated like VIP Guests and look forward to our return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

While staying at Mountain Laurel Rest, we felt like special family who had come to visit. Dave and Janis Morgan are the perfect host and hostess who go out of their way to accomodate their guests. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the location is excellent. We were served gourmet breakfasts and enjoyed our afternoon hors d'oeuvres. We can't wait until our next visit.
Meryl and David

Room Tip: All the rooms have same design
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband was the best “nurse” after my foot surgery, so I wanted to surprise him with a father’s day trip in the mountains to get away from the heat we had in Georgia. As I searched the web for accommodations near Highlands, NC, I found Mountain Laurel Rest (mountainlaurelrest.com). It looked great on the web, but the actual stay was better than I could have ever imagined. From the moment we arrived, it was heaven. Dave and Janis made us feel like old friends. We had wine and hors d’oeuvres each evening and a fabulous gourmet breakfast in our room each morning. My favorite part of the stay was sitting on our private balcony listening to the creek. The inn is secluded in a picturesque setting, yet only a short drive to restaurants, golf, shopping, etc. We are looking forward to going again. This was by far our favorite place to stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nestled on four acres about ten minutes out of Highlands in a quiet area. The exterior is of typical mountain style and blends in with the surroundings, but the interior is very modern and chic. The rooms are among the largest in which we've ever stayed -- very large! Private balcony and fireplace with large flat screen t.v. with DVD (not that we used it). The bath is luxuriously appointed with a full tiled steam shower with framless glass door and radiant floor heating. The bedding was very comfortable.

There are still finishing touches being done on the interior (they just opened in May), but Dave and Janice were very eager to make our stay comfortable and provided everything we desired. Breakfast was delicious and large in portions. (No simple granola and yogurt here.) We were stuffed. They are great hosts and we left feeling as if we'd been friends for life. This would be a tremendous place to rent out for an entire family or corporate board meeting. Highlands is also an excellent, very upscale place to visit.

The value was unbeatable. Most other places would be charging $275 or more a night for these rooms, but perhaps since they are so new, the rates are an outstanding value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I took the trip to Mountain Laurel Rest for our honeymoon. The abundant waterfalls were beautiful and provided entertainment during the day. The delicious five-star dining provided entertainment and many memories in the evenings. Above all, the "hidden" b&b provided a much needed restful and cozy environment. We woke every morning excited for the scrumptious breakfast, which was always served with a smile. My husband and I are already looking forward to another visit to North Carolina and Mountain Laurel Rest. We strongly recommend this b&b to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Laurel Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Laurel Rest

Address: 68 Shoal Creek Road, Highlands, NC 28775
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Laurel Rest's goal is to provide a place of rest and peace for seeking the Lord and focusing on His Word. Located minutes from Highlands, NC secluded in a hollow in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, you will be able to explore God's creation. This area is full of beautiful places to walk, rest and meditate on the Lord. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Laurel Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Laurel Rest to your Saves list