We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusty's Meat Market

Dusty's Meat Market
493 Dillard Road, Highlands, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a grocery store/fresh meat market. In the back they will cut you fresh steaks, chicken, veal, whatever. They also have a deli that has the most amazing homemade soups( I recommend the lobster bisque) and sundried tomato bread. Fresh salads and a ton of homemade goodies in the freezer section. Do not miss this place!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a grocery store/fresh meat market. In the back they will cut you fresh steaks, chicken, veal, whatever. They also have a deli that has the most amazing homemade soups( I recommend the lobster bisque) and sundried tomato bread. Fresh salads and a ton of homemade goodies in the freezer section. Do not miss this place!
Clarkesville, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Not sure this review goes’ here but I have no idea where else to give this place the props it deserves. We went here because someone on Tripadviser mentioned that they have meat cut to order. First let me tell you I am a beef snob. Dry aged Prime bone aged rib steaks 2” thick are my vice. But almost impossible to find in the mountains of North Georgia where I live. They do not have bone in prime but they do have Choice non bone rib steaks cut to order. All at $2.00 a lb less then the large Grocery near my home charges. They were full of marbling and had the right amount of fat on the edges. If it was dry aged prime I would no use any seasoning other than salt and pepper. They have an Argentine seasoning I decided to try on the steaks. The meat was fantastic the seasoning was great. Oh buy the way they were cooking lunch and I smelled fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stock up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have always gone here and keep on going. We stopped in and got their cinnamon rolls and biscuits. We also got a cheese dip for our wine and crackers which we got here. The meats are great. This place has a lot of different things to try so make sure you stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Local Meats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're in Highlands for a lengthy visit you'll want to stop at Dusty's! The meats are always fresh and never a tough piece! A lot of other items to choose from in this little grocery store.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've been stopping at Dusty's for years... We arrive in Highlands and stop there to stock up on great biscuits and unique convenience foods that allow us more time outdoors and less time in the kitchen! They also have already prepared cookie dough that makes some fabulous cookies to take along on a hike. Perfect place to stock up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dusty's is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very wonderful butcher shop and many home made baked good make Dusty's a special find. You can find the basics and the unusual at Dusty's.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dusty's Meat Market also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dusty's Meat Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusty's Meat Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.