We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you live in Highlands full time or part time, you know about Dusty's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dusty's Meat Market

Dusty's Meat Market
493 Dillard Road, Highlands, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a grocery store/fresh meat market. In the back they will cut you fresh steaks, chicken, veal, whatever. They also have a deli that has the most amazing homemade soups( I recommend the lobster bisque) and sundried tomato bread. Fresh salads and a ton of homemade goodies in the freezer section. Do not miss this place!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a grocery store/fresh meat market. In the back they will cut you fresh steaks, chicken, veal, whatever. They also have a deli that has the most amazing homemade soups( I recommend the lobster bisque) and sundried tomato bread. Fresh salads and a ton of homemade goodies in the freezer section. Do not miss this place!
florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you live in Highlands full time or part time, you know about Dusty's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dusty's is known for great meat! Their ground sausage is outstanding (but you can't think about your diet when you eat it). Hand cut steaks, a good variety of frozen appetizers, a little bakery (I can't resist the chocolate chip cookies). Just a fun place to visit and roam around.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Blueberry Scones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

For years it was imperative that I stop at Dusty's for any number of prepared fresh frozen foods. their meat market is great. The Blueberry scones are always a favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cool local deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Recommended by our Inn this was a fun little deli to drop into. We were told they are a great butcher but unfortunately the weather didn't permit grilling. We decided to stop in anyways sense we needed a salad to go with our take home dinner and surprisingly we didn't find anything like that at the local grocery. They had exactly what we wanted with homemade salads but the smell coming from whatever bread they were baking was almost worth the visit alone. Whether you know what you're looking for or not, I would recommend stopping in.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

There is a much better market in town. This is very small

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My favorite specialty grocery in Highland's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place is so much fun to visit and shop around. It's a quite small so you get to talk to all the owners and extended family. It's hard to say what I like the most about Dusty's because all departments are wonderful. They have a nice array of gourmet items. The meat counter has some of the best cuts in Highlands. The kitchen side has fresh baked items every morning. Many kinds of muffins, cakes, scones, pies, and other sweet temptations. The egg salad is one of my favorites.
I almost forgot to mention the frozen section is good too. It's loaded with their specialty items from stuffed trout to some of the best cinnamon rolls.
The list goes on an on....you must give Dusty's a visit!
P.S. You can sit in or out and eat breakfast, brunch, or lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dusty's Meat Market also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dusty's Meat Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusty's Meat Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.