We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Falls

Dry Falls
Highlands, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Following paved walkways from the parking area, you can walk directly underneath the tumbling 75-foot waterfall.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at Dry Falls at 10:00 on a Tuesday morning. We were alone with this magnificent wonder and enjoyed a stroll down and behind the falls with no one else in sight. Very romantic!

On our way back to the car, a dozen folks suddenly appeared and it go pretty busy/crowded. I'm sure it was an enjoyable visit for all, but we recommend getting there as early as possible. The waterfalls and a kiss are all we could have asked for!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    55
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Not Always so Dry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Dry Falls is probably the most impressive waterfall in the Cullasaja River Gorge between Highlands and Franklin, NC. At 80 feet, it's very big and powerful. It is located just 3 miles west of Highlands on US-64 in Nantahala National Forest. The Forest Service has constructed some very nice amenities for this day use area in the past couple of years. There is a large parking lot just off the highway, a vault toilet, picnic benches, and a short trail leading to and under the falls. Part of this trail is handicapped accessible so even those who can't do stairs can see the beautiful waterfall. Dry Falls is named "dry" because there is a large natural grotto behind the waterfall so visitors can walk behind the falls while staying dry. Of course this depends on the water level. The pictures included in this tip were taken during very high water levels in the summer of 2013 and so I did get a bit wet walking behind the falls. Not soaked, but sprayed on a bit. But, the high water levels make the waterfall itself that much more impressive, even if it doesn't quite live up to its name. The photo opportunities here are great, because you can literally shoot from every angle possible - front, behind, and both sides - all while staying on the well-maintained trail. So if you're in the Highlands area, don't miss the opportunity to see this beautiful waterfall.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice falls right off the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an easy falls to see, there is a roadside area for parking and the way down is railed and paved. It is a bit crowded as this falls is roadside and not a hike into the woods, so be prepared for children to run by and to wait your turn for the photo op.
That said I am so happy I stopped. There is an area where you can get behind the fall curtain of water (children will be especially thrilled) and the walk down is enjoyable. This falls is large and impressive. Just because it is roadside don't pass it up, it is worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Powerful waterfall you can walk behind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Incredibly easy access to a beautiful, powerful waterfall that you can walk behind without getting wet (hence the name, Dry Falls.) Paved walkway with handrails and benches leads to a gravel path that allows you to walk behind the massive amount of water spilling over the cliff into the gorge below.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a nice walk to Dry Falls, nice sturdy steps, fairly easy. Since there had been lots of recent rain, the falls was full and forceful. You can get close-up and walk behind the falls although the spray might get you damp. It is a great falls!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Falls also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dry Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.