We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice falls right off the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Falls

Dry Falls
Highlands, NC
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 18 attractions in Highlands
Type: Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Following paved walkways from the parking area, you can walk directly underneath the tumbling 75-foot waterfall.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice falls right off the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an easy falls to see, there is a roadside area for parking and the way down is railed and paved. It is a bit crowded as this falls is roadside and not a hike into the woods, so be prepared for children to run by and to wait your turn for the photo op.
That said I am so happy I stopped. There is an area where you can get behind the fall curtain of water (children will be especially thrilled) and the walk down is enjoyable. This falls is large and impressive. Just because it is roadside don't pass it up, it is worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    37
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dillard, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loads of fun and easy access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

One of those places that you don't have to take all day to get to. Parking is easy. It's relatively close to town. You can walk behind the falls, and if it's been raining a lot - and it has - it's just spectacular to behold! On a hot day, it's just the place to be!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Powerful waterfall you can walk behind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Incredibly easy access to a beautiful, powerful waterfall that you can walk behind without getting wet (hence the name, Dry Falls.) Paved walkway with handrails and benches leads to a gravel path that allows you to walk behind the massive amount of water spilling over the cliff into the gorge below.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a nice walk to Dry Falls, nice sturdy steps, fairly easy. Since there had been lots of recent rain, the falls was full and forceful. You can get close-up and walk behind the falls although the spray might get you damp. It is a great falls!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I rode to Dry Falls on our Harley motorcycles. It was so awesome there. Ready to go Bk. I'm sure we will.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Falls also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dry Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.