We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Falls

Dry Falls
Highlands, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Following paved walkways from the parking area, you can walk directly underneath the tumbling 75-foot waterfall.
Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a nice walk to Dry Falls, nice sturdy steps, fairly easy. Since there had been lots of recent rain, the falls was full and forceful. You can get close-up and walk behind the falls although the spray might get you damp. It is a great falls!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    57
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I rode to Dry Falls on our Harley motorcycles. It was so awesome there. Ready to go Bk. I'm sure we will.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Top Contributor
673 reviews 673 reviews
246 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome waterfall that allows visitors to actually walk behind the fall. Easy to get to on the stairs and path to the fall. Beautiful and scenic. Lots of photo ops here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rain helped the falls not be dry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was a short walk from the parking lot to the falls. You could walk behind the falls which was awesome. They were really roaring because of all the rain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This falls is off the road, and quite a climb down to see it, but unless you are using a walker, it is worth the climb back up. You will actually walk under the falls and stay mostly dry. They have improved the path under the falls, and now there is a thick layer of gravel to keep you feet dry. The gorge cut out by the river is just beautiful, so take a camera.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Falls also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dry Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.