We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Falls

Dry Falls
Highlands, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Following paved walkways from the parking area, you can walk directly underneath the tumbling 75-foot waterfall.
Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a nice walk to Dry Falls, nice sturdy steps, fairly easy. Since there had been lots of recent rain, the falls was full and forceful. You can get close-up and walk behind the falls although the spray might get you damp. It is a great falls!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    55
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I rode to Dry Falls on our Harley motorcycles. It was so awesome there. Ready to go Bk. I'm sure we will.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
242 attraction reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome waterfall that allows visitors to actually walk behind the fall. Easy to get to on the stairs and path to the fall. Beautiful and scenic. Lots of photo ops here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rain helped the falls not be dry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was a short walk from the parking lot to the falls. You could walk behind the falls which was awesome. They were really roaring because of all the rain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This falls is off the road, and quite a climb down to see it, but unless you are using a walker, it is worth the climb back up. You will actually walk under the falls and stay mostly dry. They have improved the path under the falls, and now there is a thick layer of gravel to keep you feet dry. The gorge cut out by the river is just beautiful, so take a camera.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Falls also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Dry Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.