We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprus

Cyprus
332 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741
+1 828-526-4429
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cyprus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Award Winning Chef Nicholas Figel introduces destination quality International Cuisine to Highlands, NC. In the Cyprus open kitchen, we take our inspiration from peasant foods and traditional cuisines from around the world. We hand harvest our vegetables and shop the ethnic markets to deliver authentic and traditional International flavors. We feature a unique regional menu, written and executed each day in the Cyprus kitchen, always by hand, and always using time honored, traditional cooking methods. The dining room is relaxing, inclusive, and a great place to enjoy great food and good times with friends. Cyprus International Cuisine, The most exciting dining destination in Highlands
Highlands, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We are permanent, year round residents and Cyprus is one of our favorite restaurants. This past Saturday, we ordered the calamari and it was the best we have had at any restaurant including those in Las Vegas where we visited several years ago. And as usual, the servers are excellent and knowledgeable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    48
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were recommended Cyprus by a couple we came across while watching the OU-Alabama game the other night. It was an outstanding referral!

The location is a bit out of the way from the Old Edwards Inn where we stayed, but the food and service overwhelmingly made up for it.

We sat at the counter where we could see Chef Nic perform. He was also a very engaging host, always making time to answer a question or provide his culinary views. He never seemed bothered. Instead he was quite passionate and enthusiastic about his craft and approach.

The food was amazing. We stuck to small plates--6 in fact. The Mandarin Ribs were one of the best things we have ever eaten.

The cuisine is very international, but it all works well together. Chef Nic also has a supplemental menu that changes weekly. It serves as a way to keep the staff challenged and engaged in learning new cuisine. By the way, the wait staff are very pleasant and knowledgeable. The kitchen staff interacts with Chef Nic flawlessly. There is an unspoken understanding of what to do, how to do it, and when to do it.

Cyprus will be moving to a new location this Spring that will undoubtedly allow it to reach its potential.

We highly recommend Cyprus! Thanks Chef and your team at Cyprus!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Old Edward Inn and the temptation was to walk to the many fine restaurants downtown. Cyprus was a short 5 minute drive but a truly unique dining experience. The chef/owner greeted us and showed us the fresh local ingredients he was using to prepare meals that evening. We snagged a table near the open kitchen and watched in amazement as he juggled pots and pans while cooking. Our Indian fare was excellent and timely prepared. What a special place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a traveler who has eaten in a wide variety of popular food cities from Italy to New York to L.A., I am impressed to say my continual best dining experience is at Cyprus in Highlands, North Carolina. This small town where I grew up taking family vacations has a variety of great restaurants, but this one has become my favorite here and stands out as my top pick from my many travels. I ate here again last night for the 4th time, and it was as outstanding as usual. From the bread with garlic and oil to my eggplant appetizer and an amazing Asian-inspired fish dish with fresh oranges, my taste buds were thanking me.
I have read a few reviews that were not a perfect 5 due to the menu being too complicated or International. Let me just say the restaurant is called Cyprus International Cuisine, so those coming to the restaurant seeking simple Southern fare need to rethink. But if you are looking for a creative, fantastic mix of World flavors, this is the spot for you! Enjoy :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful satisfying Vegetarian dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I looked at options for an anniversary dinner for our first trip to Highlands. We couldn't have picked a better place! Being vegetarian and liking great food means that we can be pretty critical if restaurants do vege as an after-thought but that clearly wasn't the case here. The chef (Nicholas) did a wonderful preparation and presentation of the Chile Relleno and Parmigiano Reggiano Eggplant appetizers. The Relleno was quite spicy, but we had been warned by our great waitress Anastasia. Then the meal came out and it just got better. We loved both the Rijstafel Chicken dish with Tofu substituted which came with seven different tasty sauces, and the Secret Oven Tagliatele of Lazio. Unless you are very hungry, I wouldn't order both the appetizer and the meal as both were more substantial than I had expected. We finished the meal with the small and right priced deserts that nicely finished off our last ability to eat more! The China five spiced apple crisp was a very enjoyable and unique taste (I recommend the strong Vanilla Bean ice cream with it), and the Mexican Chocolate Ganache which would please every Chocolate lover... Final thoughts, four thumbs up. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Highlands!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyprus also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.