We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant as always!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Save
You added Highlands House Bed &Breakfast to your Saves list
101 Potter Lane, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Highlands B&B and Inns
Bolton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellant as always!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our third visit to Highlands House B&B. It's a lovely home in a beautiful setting. Colin & Raleigh are the best, they always make you feel so welcome. We particularily enjoy the cocktail hour when we can all sit down together and chat. Also we can't say enough about the breakfasts that are served each morning always something new and always so delicious. We feel sad each time we have to leave and start counting down the days untl we can return for more of their warm hospitality. If you are ever in the area look no further than Highlands House, you will never be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Craig and Sharron - always a pleasure to have you stay with us!! Hope you have a great trip home to Canada! See you in Highlands or Toronto! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
63
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. It is clean and comfortable. They pour a good cocktail and the breakfast was delicious. We have never experienced hosts quite like Colin and Raleigh who made us feel like family. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed the conversations. They are knowledgable about the surrounding area. We have stayed in many B&Bs in Highlands and other places and this is our favorite one yet. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Chris and Donna -Very much enjoyed having you stay with us! Lucy is a wonderful pet and great traveller! Hope to see you back at Highlands House soon! Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved this inn and cannot wait to return! Colin and Raleigh are gracious hosts and made us feel most welcomed. The cocktail hour and delicious breakfasts were highlights of our stay in Highlands. The inn is beautiful and spacious so it provides a great place to relax and have time to yourself. We have traveled and stayed in many inns and I have to say this is one of my most favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the kind words,Amy!! Sure your handsome husband was pleased with the results of the Tennessee game that night! Looking forward to meeting your mother when you come back!
Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Bernadette and I really enjoyed our stay, too short, with Colin and Raleigh wonderful b&b great breakfasts and the cocktails where we were able to meet the other guests and listen to Colin and Raleigh's relating to their experience as b&b hosts. Hope to do a return visit, anyone reading this you need to go to really appreciate the experience

Room Tip: None needed all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, Bernadette and Clive!! We enjoyed having you stay with us!! Come back

soon! Raleigh and Colin P.S. I watched a clip of Mrs Brown yesterday - hilarious!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga, tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Colin and Raleigh made our short visit to Highlands superb: gracious, amiable hosts, knowledgeable about the area, world travelers, art and antique lovers who have built a charming B&B and furnished it exquisitely. Their ample breakfast was yummy and and the setting relaxing as their mountain streams bubbled down the hillside just outside our room's deck. Their B&B offers more generous public spaces than any other we've visited, and the price is right for a pricey area. We'll be back! B&C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
It was great to visit with you, Charles and Brenda! We enjoyed your stories! Keep up the good fight in Tennessee!! Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a short stay at Highlands House. Colin and Raleigh were superb hosts, truly making us feel part of the family! Their warm and gracious hospitality along with the beautiful accommodations was the best we have experienced in many years of staying at B & B's around the world. They are relaxed and experienced innkeepers who know the true meaning of hospitality. We enthusiastically recommend Highlands House. Bob & Pat

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Bob and Pat - you were definitely 2 of our "absolute best" guests! Very much enjoyed having you stay with us!! Looking forward to having you stay again - only this time "DOWNSTAIRS"!!!
Best Wishes!! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Once again I had the most wonderful stay at the Highlands House B&B. Colin and Raleigh, thank you for all you do to make my stay wonderful in every way. After finding this lovely place in September 2011, it has been the only place I think of staying when going to the Highlands area. I have been going to Highlands/Cashiers since 1985, so I have had the opportunity to stay many places thru the years. No matter how many times you stay Raleigh will try and make breakfast delicious and different. Looking forward to my next stay.
Ellie Friedman
(Miss Lizzy)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We love having you and Miss Lizzy visit, Ellie! Looking forward to your next visit! Send us a picture of Miss Lizzy in her new Christmas coat when she wears it! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlands House Bed &Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

Address: 101 Potter Lane, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular B&B just 1.5 miles from Main Street in Highlands NC. We offer 2 romantic, comfortable suites. A full breakfast is served daily from 8-10 a.m. Complimentary cocktails are offered daily at 6 p.m. We are a pet-friendly B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.