We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the highlands house!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Save
You added Highlands House Bed &Breakfast to your Saves list
101 Potter Lane, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Highlands B&B and Inns
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at the highlands house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Heather and I made last minute plans to visit somewhere in Highlands for the weekend. After searching the area hotels, we took a chance on this place and were convinced to stay after reading the other trip advisor reviews. We booked the fireplace suite after talking to Colin on the phone for two nights. I have to say, that this is hands down the best place we have ever stayed. The reviews are indeed true to word. Colin and Raleigh flat out make you feel like you're staying with family. Their years of experience in hospitality really show and the experience is second to none. The website just doesn't do the place justice. Something to be experienced. The attention to detail the cordiality of Colin and Raleigh, the level of comfort, complimentary 6pm cocktail hour, filled with laughter and story telling. Just haven't experienced anything quite like this. Breakfast was amazing, akin to anything in any 5 star restaurant. Bananas foster and waffles, eggs Benedict, all served in early 1900's china. No detail was spared. The room was lush, extravagant, elegant and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub and accompanying bath salts provided the extra touch, the large walk in shower. The grounds are beautifully manicured with waterfalls and carefully planted flowers and shrubs. We will be definitely visiting again. Thank you Colin and Raleigh for an unbelievable visit and a relaxing stay. If you favor old Edwards inn... I think this place is even better.

Room Tip: Get the fireplace suite. It's worth it, though, the less elegant terrace suite has a full kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
63
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

went there for a "girls weekend", had an awesome time, hidden off the road with privacy. With the property having private settings this place is perfect for pictures when flowers/trees are in bloom. Large enough for bridal/groom/reunions/meeting gatherings, but intimate and romantic enough for honeymooners. The owners give you the royal treatment in meeting your comfy needs. They offer cocktails and appetizers in the evening on one of the many decks with a view . Breakfast is on china and crystal, the morning we were there we had fresh seasonal local fruit and homemade Belgium waffles yummy goodness. Even though the coffee smells tempting I chose the wide range of flavored teas. Thanks again Colin and Raliegh for a great relaxing girls weekend

Room Tip: make reservations, has a honeymoon suite with a sunken jacuzzi and a shower for two and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After many months of not having nor making time, my wife and I were able to once again share and enjoy the immaculate and beautiful establishment, Highlands House. The Innkeepers are extremely professional, polite, and incredibly accommodating. My wife and I stay at BnB's all over the US and Europe and must say that Colin and Raleigh are our favorites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just checked out this morning after a breakfast of fresh fruit, pumpkin raisin pancakes and great coffee. More like staying with friends than at a business. The vintage china, crystal, intriging collectibles from around the world, themed rooms and the marvelous company of Raliegh and Colin made for a special visit. My wife loves small B&B's, I'm more the boutique hotel type. We both loved it.

Blake and Polly Whitney, Longboat Key, FL

Room Tip: Serene and quiet wooded area. No lake or moutain view. 1.5 mi. from center of shopping/dining High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The B&B is beautiful. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. There is a complimentary happy hour at night and a full breakfast in the morning. The fireplace room was warm and cozy. You have your own private entrance so you can come and go as you please. We are planning to go back in July or Aug when the local rhododendrons are flowering. There is lots of nice hiking in the local mountains, and great restaurants in the quaint town of Highlands. Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

What could have been a mediocre trip proved to be a spectacular weekend!
This magical B&B comes with innskeepers who think of everything -- the rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated in a privately wooded setting. The full breakfast and Colin and Raleigh's warm hospitality makes for the perfect getaway. Exceeding my expectations in every aspect, we will be back in the spring!! Don't miss this one!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

What a wonderful weekend we just spent here. The service was top notch and the owners could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable of the area, or great hosts. We will always cherish our memories of the weekend. That is, of course, until we return to make even more!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlands House Bed &Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

Address: 101 Potter Lane, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular B&B just 1.5 miles from Main Street in Highlands NC. We offer 2 romantic, comfortable suites. A full breakfast is served daily from 8-10 a.m. Complimentary cocktails are offered daily at 6 p.m. We are a pet-friendly B&B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.