We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cioppino!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Paoletti

Ristorante Paoletti
440 Main Street, PO Box 189, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-4906
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 41 restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Next Door to Highlands Inn, Across Street from Old Edwards Inn
Description: Celebrating 29 years in Highlands, North Carolina in 2013, we invite you to enjoy fantastic regional Italian dining in an elegant, old-world atmosphere. Serving the area's largest selection of fresh coastal Seafood & Local Rainbow Trout. An array of specialties is complimented by one of the deepest wine cellars in the Southeast. Infused Spirits, Craft Cocktails & a large selection of Wines-by-the-glass from Champagne to Barolo & Cabernet are available Nightly. Our menu's printed daily Specials reflect seasonal and locally grown ingredients. Full Dinner Menu available at the Bar. Located next door to Highlands Inn and the Old Edwards Inn on Main Street in Highlands.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Cioppino!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Bountiful Cioppino, will not disappoint. We also had the crabmeat filled lobster. Very upscale yet cozy classic Italian decor. Staff was so friendly and it seemed that most of the clients were regulars who have second homes in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    399
    41
    26
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL/NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are well traveled, spending a lot of time in New York City, Paris and Rome, but have to say we would rather be eating at Paoletti's in Highlands, N.C., than anywhere in the whole world! Tonight we could not decide between 3 entrees (1/2 of a bone-in duck in blackberry brand sauce, fried soft shell crab and seared scallops with light bread crumbs) so we ordered them all. Each one was well presented and delicious. The service is always friendly and the ambiance is warm and inviting. It is a most popular restaurant so reservations are a must, in advance. I made our reservations for tonight a week ago and have already made reservations for next week.

Paoletti's has a full bar and a wonderful wine selection. There was also an extensive list of specialty drinks on a printout at our table.

My husband ordered bananas foster bread pudding for dessert. It was out of this world delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first time to Paoletti's and we really didn't know what to expect, but it was fantastic! The restaurant is adorable, the food was easily the best I've had, and the service was wonderful! Everyone was helpful and cheerful! The drinks were very well made as well!! We will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

nice service - good meal but nothing that stood out too much - the decore is a bit dark and could use a bit of updating but the servers were very nice and down to earth - you will have a pleasant evening if you go...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I honestly don’t understand how this Ristorante earned so many excellent reviews.
If you wish to spent $200 (2 guests), including a $60 bottle of wine and get:
- Very average (I mean VERY average) food (I understand it’s Highlands, NC not Paris, but still),
- Waiters racing between tables with “their right of way”,
- Obtrusive owner asking you every ten minutes whether you like the meal,
well, than you may like Ristorante Paoletti. We didn’t, and although, most of my reviews are very positive, I highly recommend against this place.
If prices were adequate, I would rate it "Average", but this restaurant is so overpriced that it in my opinion it deserves "Poor" rating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOSTRANO, Owner at Ristorante Paoletti, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
In response to the review of our restaurant, I can offer the following:

We realize that we will not be able to please everyone that passes through our doors no matter how hard we try. That said, we will continue to please the great majority of those diners that actually go out to dinner to enjoy themselves and are at least understanding of what a busy Memorial Day Saturday night may entail. First off, if one were hoping to dine at the prime dinner hour of 7:30 in a small 18-table dining room, one may wish to call some week or two or more -in advance to secure that reservation time. When the reviewer called on Friday for a Saturday reservation, he was offered a 5:00 dining time as that was all that we had available on such short notice as all prime dinner hour tables were booked well in advance.
This diner's indifference and rude behavior toward the very pleasant hostess should have been an early indication of a poor review in the making. We saw to it that the guest was especially well pampered. But, after cleaning both of their plates, literally ate everything they were served, we find it incredulous that he could call the meal 'average, very average' then complain about the price on this website. We can only guess what may have been amiss other than his reservation time was not to his satisfaction and dinner cost more than he expected to pay outside of Paris. The reviewer's wife seemed quite about the dismissive behavior he showed to our waitstaff, the Sommelier and the Maitre'D who were trying to offer a high level of service on this very busy night. Interesting that this customer calls us 'average' and seemed annoyed when asked how he was enjoying his meal by the attentive staff. Yet, he was unable to communicate any dissatisfaction with any one thing about his meal after eating everything on his plate? If we were not reviewed by so many happy diners in serving anything less than delicious food and gracious service and if we were overcharging at that, I could give this diner some credibility for his review. Unfortunately, this review has none in our opinion.
-Arthur Paoletti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Paoletti also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Ristorante Paoletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Paoletti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.