We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chandler Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chandler Inn
Save
You added The Chandler Inn to your Saves list
790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Highlands B&B and Inns
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“July 4th Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

July 4th in small town America is special but in small town Highlands, NC it is fun and unique. For us, staying at the Chandler Inn makes it comfortable and almost like home...without the pressures of deadlines and chores. We've stayed in this venue 4 times and have never been dissatisfied. The rooms are cozy and clean, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfasts are fantastic, served outdoors or inside. A short walk from the Inn to downtown yields great dining venues and shopping. At 4,000 ft above sea level, July in Highlands requires a sweater or jacket at night and in the morning but breakfast outside with the temps in the 60s is really neat, especially for us hot weather dwellers. We will continue to return to the Chandler Inn every chance we get! Chris & Susie B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My family and I came and stayed for a couple nights and loved the hotel. It was comforting and very cozy. The beds were also comfy. Breakfast was great and people were so friendly! We are definatly planning to come back and stay soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This adorable mountain town B&B has a 100% grade A from the department of health and it shows in their immaculate white comforters and spotless rooms. I had a room with a fireplace that added a touch of romance. Breakfast was delicious and served between 9 and 10am, so there's no pressure to rise early. The inn keeper is a wonderful host and entertaining conversationalist with lots of good advice on where to explore in the Highlands area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We spent one night at the Chandler Inn in mid-May and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a tremendous value as it is very close to downtown, has large clean rooms and fantastic service. Additionally, the breakfast was homemade and delicious. The proprietors were some of the most genuinely nice and interesting people I have encountered and they were a genuine pleasure to talk to. If we ever make it back to Highlands we will be sure to stay at The Chandler Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Letty's breakfast casseroles were incredible...egg soufflé every morning, baked french toast with blueberries and almonds the first morning and our second morning the sweet casserole was like an apple Brown Betty. The swings, rocking chairs and tables scattered around the property provided a nice resting place for reading or just enjoying the weather. Letty was a wonderful hostess. The inn is a bit old but the price made it worth the stay. Half mile from town, we walked. They could provide phones in room and coffee makers in room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Chandler Inn was a great place to stay for a night in Highlands. Clean, well-run, convenient access to Main Street, and run by such nice people. The breakfast in the morning is delicious too! It has a quaint, mountain atmosphere that makes you feel like you are living the Highlands lifestyle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Highlands is a pretty expensive place to stay, and The Chandler Inn is no exception, although more reasonably priced than some.

On arrival I was a bit disappointed that it looked nowhere near as nice as on the website and had an extremely rustic feel – a little too rustic for my tastes. Our room was nice enough, but very dated and pretty typical of a North Carolina mountain cabin i.e. not particularly modern, lots of wood paneling, basic fittings, etc. Definitely not a bad thing, but not what I was expecting at the price we paid. The air conditioning unit was a window mounted one and heating was through some rusted vents on the floor, which didn’t look particularly nice, but were very efficient. There was also a nice gas-log style fire, which didn’t add much to the heat element of things, but did add a nice ambience to the room.

The bathroom was also quite dated, but clean and with lots of hot water. There was a fridge but no coffee facilities provided in the room.

The inn is about 10 minutes easy walk into the main town and the path is reasonably well lit, if returning in the dark, although we were glad we also had a torch.

Breakfast the next morning was nice enough – freshly cooked sweet soufflé and egg dish with lots of other things to choose from, good coffee and nice orange juice. Shame about the styrofoam plates and cups and plastic cutlery – not at all what I was expecting! The dining area is also extremely small and seats around 6 or 7 people at a push, so goodness knows what would happen if everyone arrived for breakfast at once! There is some nice outside seating too, but it wasn’t really the weather for sitting outside.

Overall we had a nice stay, but considering the price I don’t think I’d rush back. I think it is probably a nicer to stay in the summer months as there are plenty of nice little nooks and outdoor areas to sit, and strolling into town would be nicer also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chandler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.