We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced right, breakfast excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chandler Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chandler Inn
Save
You added The Chandler Inn to your Saves list
790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Highlands B&B and Inns
georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Priced right, breakfast excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Letty's breakfast casseroles were incredible...egg soufflé every morning, baked french toast with blueberries and almonds the first morning and our second morning the sweet casserole was like an apple Brown Betty. The swings, rocking chairs and tables scattered around the property provided a nice resting place for reading or just enjoying the weather. Letty was a wonderful hostess. The inn is a bit old but the price made it worth the stay. Half mile from town, we walked. They could provide phones in room and coffee makers in room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Chandler Inn was a great place to stay for a night in Highlands. Clean, well-run, convenient access to Main Street, and run by such nice people. The breakfast in the morning is delicious too! It has a quaint, mountain atmosphere that makes you feel like you are living the Highlands lifestyle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Highlands is a pretty expensive place to stay, and The Chandler Inn is no exception, although more reasonably priced than some.

On arrival I was a bit disappointed that it looked nowhere near as nice as on the website and had an extremely rustic feel – a little too rustic for my tastes. Our room was nice enough, but very dated and pretty typical of a North Carolina mountain cabin i.e. not particularly modern, lots of wood paneling, basic fittings, etc. Definitely not a bad thing, but not what I was expecting at the price we paid. The air conditioning unit was a window mounted one and heating was through some rusted vents on the floor, which didn’t look particularly nice, but were very efficient. There was also a nice gas-log style fire, which didn’t add much to the heat element of things, but did add a nice ambience to the room.

The bathroom was also quite dated, but clean and with lots of hot water. There was a fridge but no coffee facilities provided in the room.

The inn is about 10 minutes easy walk into the main town and the path is reasonably well lit, if returning in the dark, although we were glad we also had a torch.

Breakfast the next morning was nice enough – freshly cooked sweet soufflé and egg dish with lots of other things to choose from, good coffee and nice orange juice. Shame about the styrofoam plates and cups and plastic cutlery – not at all what I was expecting! The dining area is also extremely small and seats around 6 or 7 people at a push, so goodness knows what would happen if everyone arrived for breakfast at once! There is some nice outside seating too, but it wasn’t really the weather for sitting outside.

Overall we had a nice stay, but considering the price I don’t think I’d rush back. I think it is probably a nicer to stay in the summer months as there are plenty of nice little nooks and outdoor areas to sit, and strolling into town would be nicer also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Some friends of ours stumbled on this B&B last year on their annisversary and insisted we make a trip. We visited this past weekend and absolutely enjoyed it. It was a much needed getaway! The rooms are quaint and cozy - perfect for a place to lay your head. We didn't spend much time in the rooms - we wanted to getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and enjoy the great outdoors and this was perfect! The atmosphere is simply breathtaking! All the rooms are decorated differently and set up differently but all were very clean and comfortable. The garden patios were set up nicely with rocking chairs and swings. The breakfast was perfect! We were not restrained to any time limits so we leisurely got up and got ready for breakfast around 8:30. Breakfast was available on the patio and brought to us as we enjoyed the fresh air and coffee. We weren't getting away to find a place with wifi or fancy china for breakfast, we wanted to getaway and relax and enjoy God's beauty and that's exactly what we got at the Chandler Inn! The breakfast was great and would have tasted the same if served on china. The owners were very pleasant and was very gracious to help accomodate us with anything we needed. Planning our next trip already!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love this place so much. We stumbled upon it last year looking for a cozy get-a-way near the charming town of Highlands NC. Now, we go back as often as we can. It's quaint, cozy but with all the amenities of home. It's perfect for couples who want the bed and breakfast experience but with privacy. Plus, the breakfast is far from the ordinary and is always delicious. You have to visit to truly understand how amazing this place is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I were in Highlands for a wedding and stayed at the Inn.It is very charming and the breakfast was wonderful!! Very laid back and peaceful.Rooms were extremely clean and cozy.Every room has its own private entrance.We stayed in a king room that was quite large and had a TV and sofa. The rooms also have a small fridge and microwave.We hated to leave but we will return again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I were looking to return to Highland's, a small elegant place we traveled to in the NC Mountains when our children were very young. About twenty-five years later, we found ourselves in the same beautiful area we so fondly remembered. Our trip was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We are in prison ministry so our funds did not match the Main Street Inn's that run over $300 nightly. I called the Chandler Inn and knew right away we had found our "special Place". The Inn keeper's, Randy and his wife were wonderful and very gracious hosts. She cooked different dishes that were absolutely out of this world both mornings. We were there to hike and photo the various waterfalls and their Inn is very easy to find and close to everything. Main St was only a couple blocks away.

We were just talking today about it's time for us to plan another Fall trip to Highland's for this year. And as far as where to stay? We'll return to this lovely place where our room was extremely clean and had a fire place and fridge. We also loved the Inn's brand of shampoo and soaps. My husband and I both loved the Rain Shower head and the bathroom was spotless!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chandler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.