We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chandler Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chandler Inn
Save
You added The Chandler Inn to your Saves list
790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Highlands B&B and Inns
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I were looking to return to Highland's, a small elegant place we traveled to in the NC Mountains when our children were very young. About twenty-five years later, we found ourselves in the same beautiful area we so fondly remembered. Our trip was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We are in prison ministry so our funds did not match the Main Street Inn's that run over $300 nightly. I called the Chandler Inn and knew right away we had found our "special Place". The Inn keeper's, Randy and his wife were wonderful and very gracious hosts. She cooked different dishes that were absolutely out of this world both mornings. We were there to hike and photo the various waterfalls and their Inn is very easy to find and close to everything. Main St was only a couple blocks away.

We were just talking today about it's time for us to plan another Fall trip to Highland's for this year. And as far as where to stay? We'll return to this lovely place where our room was extremely clean and had a fire place and fridge. We also loved the Inn's brand of shampoo and soaps. My husband and I both loved the Rain Shower head and the bathroom was spotless!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay the night in the Highlands so started looking for a place on internet came across Chandler Inn had already called few other places and no vacancy unless you was staying two nights so ended up booking at Chandler Inn! It is a very quaint rustic little place I just fell in love with the charm of it not to mention the hospitality we received when we arrived it was kinda late when we arrived to! O and the breakfast was out of this world! She fixes it fresh every morning! She was so so kind, even offered me a glass of wine when we arrived cause I was little stressed from the trip!! Definately be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our room was just okay - clean but dated. The air conditioner was on constantly for 24 hours before the room was cool. In fact the people in the room next to ours moved after the first night because their room never cooled off. We stated when we arrived that we did not eat onions or peppers. The next morning the egg casserole was as requested, but the second morning - the same casserole was served (which is not the norm in a bed and breakfast) and they "forgot" to leave out those ingredients. No apology was offered. As others have stated, breakfast was served on styrofoam plates with plastic forks. Decaf coffee was not available, and had to be requested each morning. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Chandler Inn is really easy to find. The rooms were very affordable and fun to stay in. My girl friend and I really enjoy staying there! Randy is available if needed and the breakfast in the morning was really good. I usually like to hike or walk around outside and then shop/eat in town. I feel like the chandler inn is a really great way to go in highlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are nice -not great. The main positive for the inn is the close proximity to town. This is good because we had to go to town every morning we were here to get coffee. The owners are not early risers. Breakfast is served on styrofoam p,ages with plastic utensils. The food was pretty much the same each day. A blueberry French toast that was overly sweet and didn't taste like blueberries, a bland egg soufflé and an overly sweet baked oatmeal. Good news is they have cereal and English muffins -definitely the way to go. Wifi is very poor and not accessible from most rooms. But for many people that isn't an issue. If it is an issue, make sure you get a room close to the office.

Randy and Leti are very nice people. This just wasn't the get away We were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Kitts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Chandler Inn was our haven while visiting Highlands, NC. Our room was clean, comfortable, well appointed and very cozy. The remote controlled fireplace was nice touch. We had a king size bed in one room and a double in the main room where fireplace was located. The breakfast was splendid. Short stroll to main St. Just first rate accommodations, breakfast and hosts. Randy and Letty Power were top-flight hosts. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room wonderful and clean. Randy made us feel welcome. But be prepared for hwy noise if you sit outside. Inside not so bad. Beautiful setting. Easy one half mile walk to Main street. Breakfast at 8:30 was delicious but had to go to town for coffee at 7:30. No coffee or breakfast before 8:30.

Room Tip: there are two rooms on the back side of the Inn. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chandler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.