We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Restaurant

Lakeside Restaurant
531 Smallwood Ave, on Harris Lake, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-9419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
columbia, sc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughters and I just had a fabulous meal at Lakeside. Not only is the venue quaint, the food and service was extraordinary. We have heard so much about this restaurant but never had the chance to try it. Won't make that mistake again. From the appetizer to dessert, everything was delicious! And with walking distance from OEI, perfect. Nicole was so knowledgeable, and the owner Marty stopped by our table to welcome and tell us about the specials. Will be back next time we are visiting Highlands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    31
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed our 10th anniversary at the Lakeside Restaurant and we had a fantastic evening. Best service I've ever experienced in a restaurant! The food was fantastic and it was a great time. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Great Place To Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We travel a fair amount. We live in Florida but also have a home in North Carolina. In the last 24 years we have never been in the mountains without going to Lakeside Restaurant. It is approximately a 30 minute commute from our mountain home but the trip there is well worth our time. Marty, the owner/chef always comes out to talk to us. Both Marty and the entire staff are very personable. Marty is also an amazing chef. You must try the tomato florentine soup, the lamb chops, the duck, the buttermilk pie, as they are all staples on the menu and amazingly good. Last night my husband had the duck and it was prepared with a scrumptious bing-cherry sauce. I had fish that was a special on the menu, Snook, and it was out of this world.

Make your reservations and try to do them well in advance as it is a very sought place to dine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“5 star food with down home friendly people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On my first visit to the Highlands I was encouraged to make early reservations for this restaurant and I'm glad I did because it was booked for the whole weekend. Great food,wine,service, and quaint lake view. Best lamb I have ever had!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lakeside is a major class restaurant and the personal service and small dining room makes you feel even more special. The food is ALWAYS excellent! There is absolutely no better Tomato Basil soup in the world. I think they "invented" it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.