We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Restaurant

Lakeside Restaurant
531 Smallwood Ave, on Harris Lake, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-9419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rockford, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were visiting from Michigan in the NC area for a week and found this restaurant online. What great food and outstanding service. Don't let the humble exterior appearance make you think this is not a first class place to dine. We changed our reservation time twice in the afternoon and this was received without complaint. Great wine, great tasty food and fine staff. If we visit the area we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    22
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We eat at Lakeside every year and look forward to it. We make reservations months in advance to be sure we get to enjoy this incredible place and it never disappoints. Love it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Local Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Manny, the owner-chef, is on hand to make sure everything is to your liking. This 15-year institution is always packed, so make sure you reserve a table in advance. Very cozy dining room with an energetic buzz from the crowd. A trip to Highlands should include a a dinner at Lakeside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best in Highlands!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had dinner there on Friday night. We had reservations and were seated when we walked in. The place is small but very comfortable. I would definitely make reservations during peak season and weekends. We had the best meal we have ever eaten in Highlands. Paoletti's included. The best FRESH Red Snapper ever. Get the whole Red Snapper that is lightly fried Tempura style. The best the fish I have ever eaten and we spend 6 months a year in Destin, Florida. Scallops and blackened grouper were very good as well. Outstanding Restaurant!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I can`t say enough about this place Service was a 5 STAR The owner and chef came and visited with us as well. A 5 Star place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.