We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of Highlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park On Main Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Park On Main Hotel to your Saves list
The Park On Main Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Highlands Suite Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
1 review
“Jewel of Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rarely do places exceed the billing or even the reviews written by others here on Trip Advisor. But if you can't stay at the Old Edwards Inn you need to come here. The problem: you'll probably never want to stay at Old Edwards after you discover the charming remake of this longtime hotel. The rooms remind us of The Sanctuary at Kisses.... only bigger and just as nice.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful hotel during a brief visit to Highlands. The King Suite we stayed in was beautifully laid out with a nice bathroom and a gigantic shower. The rooms appeared to be recently renovated and beautifully decorated. The air conditioning system was very quiet (an item that some hotels ignore!). The room and bed were all round --very comfortable. This hotel is very pet friendly. I wished that our dog was with us!

Room Tip: Our room was on the main level adjacent the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautifully renovated hotel on Main Street in Highlands. Quality job that creates an inviting and comfortable space. Exceptionally clean. Really enjoyed the floor warmers in the gorgeous bathroom! A huge suite with a balcony. Hope to be able to stay here again. Loved it.

Pros: Great new furnishings and finishes. Playful animal portraits. Keurig coffee make in the suite along with a fridge. Spacious suite and large flat screen TVs. Good WiFi. Comfortable beds and high end bedding.

Two (small) cons: We stayed in Room 106 which is at the end of a hallway. The end of the hallway could use more light as it was quite dark. Also, could not find a convenient place to plug in a laptop in the living room area of the suite.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just WOW! My husband & I have enjoyed well appointed stays at Old Edwards Inn before; but now hate to travel without our very, old dog. We were hoping not to compromise on quality, while bringing our sweet old girl along. The Park on Main TOTALLY exceeded our expectations. Everything is newly renovated and top of the line furnishings, clean, large bathrooms, chic and comfortable. We had a huge suite, with separate living area and fireplace. To top it off, there was a large, Orvis memory foam bed waiting for our old girl, with bumpers. The only thing better would be if we could just move in and live here. We all LOVED it. A quick stroll down to all the shops & restaurants in town..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at The Park On Main Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for all your kind words.
We are thrilled that you and your four-legged family member felt so at-home with us!
Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Give the dog a bone! A delightfully thoughtful boutique property with quiet attention to detail that makes each guest feel welcome......both man and his furry best friend.

My husband and I enjoyed a first time two night stay and were amazed at the consideration given to the smallest of details. From the Toto toilets to the heated bathroom floors to the quality towels, linens and pillows.....all of this plus a complimentary continental breakfast. The artwork and interiors are spot on! An incredible value for a downtown walk-to-everything location. We booked our next visit before even checking out.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view and more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at The Park On Main Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to accommodating you when you return next month.
Thank you for such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavonia, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a delightful two night stay in March of this year. The accommodations were comfortable for my husband and myself in the king room. The room itself was very clean and the housekeeping staff made sure that we had everything we needed. The front desk staff at Park on Main were very friendly and courteous. They went out of their way to see to our every need. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we visit in Highlands.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at The Park On Main Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy that you found our hotel and that your stay with us was so great!
We will be looking forward to your next visit to Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My father and I booked a one night stay here on a whim and were immediately impressed. The unexpected dog theme was strong but not overwhelming, the employees pleasant and energetic, and the room luxurious for the price. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area or passing through. The only downside was being woken up by construction noises at 930am. However, this was immediately remedied by playing music via complimentary WiFi and ihome in the room. Walk-in shower, fold-out bed, and (although minimal) gluten-free breakfast options. Great place!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park On Main Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park On Main Hotel

Address: 205 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Highlands Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park On Main Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management, this "all suite" hotel offers the utmost in comfort and luxury. Each of our 24 suites offers access to a fully landscaped garden terrace. We are pet friendly as well as within easy walking distance to local shopping and dining. Visit our website for availability! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Park On Main Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park On Main Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.