We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park on Main

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park on Main
205 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Highlands Suite Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awsome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After making my reservations my daughter told me I should have looked it up on tripadvisor. So I went back and looked up this hotel. I was scared to death! Not wanting to pay a fee to cancle I just hoped things would be ok. Thank goodness I keep my reservation. We Loved our stay. The deco is from the 80's. But so was the way we was treated. The workers so friendly and helpful.Even the housekeepers where friendly. You could tell they liked there job it showed in the care they took cleaning the rooms. Cleanest rooms I've seen in a long time. We will stay again real soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked a suite here in large part because the senior member of our party had fond memories of staying here several times in the past, but more than a few years ago. Unfortunately, it did not live up to her memories or meet our expectations.

Among the things we disliked: we were issued a single key (for a group of three people). Layout of room was poor (when the sofabed was out, it was impossible to open the door to the room fully, such that entering or leaving the room became a complicated routine); chandelier was low enough that I kept bumping my head on it (and I'm just 5'4"). Carpet felt perpetually damp from the high humidity. Ice machine audible from the living room all night, as was anyone who happened to be outside. Internet access pig-slow if more than one person on the network, and wholly unsecured. High doorway treads made wheeling luggage carts in and out of rooms and to/from the parking lot difficult. Compared to most chain motels, the breakfast selection is uninspiring, with only one type of juice (orange) and no protein except for frozen sausage biscuits (set out only on Sunday and Monday); there is an array of breads, muffins, cold cereal, yogurt, and instant oatmeal, so if you just want a quick bite of starch and dairy, you're in business, and the price is right (included with lodging). My companions said the coffee wasn't very good. (My point is that on the one hand, the selection is okay for what you pay for, but if you're accustomed to "free" breakfast at almost any other motel, you won't be impressed by what's on offer here.)

Other things to be aware of: hotel is not staffed between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m. The walls of the jacuzzi tub are high and may present a problem to people with mobility issues; there is a grab bar at the end of the tub, but the floor of the tub becomes slick very easily. The on-timer for the jacuzzi jets are on the other side of the bathroom, such that water sprays everywhere as you get in and out of the tub. (It is also very, very noisy.) The sofa bed was less than comfortable (I ended up sleeping on top of the blanket so that it could serve as an extra layer). The can/bottle opener looked like it had been broken off a larger gadget.

On the plus side: the couple who cleans the rooms is friendly, and did a good job tidying up each day. The location is terrific -- right across from a pharmacy and within walking distance of many good eateries and shops, as well as a mere 15 minutes from the Bascom art museum and an art glass store. The jacuzzi jets were pleasantly strong. The suite included a fridge, and there was plenty of closet space for the three of us. Our car was visible from our room.

Ultimately, we got the impression that of a place that has been trying to cut corners where it can (e.g., the minimal staffing - it wasn't 24 hours in the past, but apparently the lobby was open until 11 p.m. - and the absence of Saturday happy hour, which the senior member had spoken of as a feature of the hotel's more affluent days). I've stayed in plenty of places that were shabbier or skankier, but we'll be looking harder for something more suitable for a girls' weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you can ignore the decor that dates back to the 90's (including flowered wallpaper border, lol), if you just want a clean, comfortable stay, then this place is for you. The building is sturdy & well-maintained, the room is spacious & had everything we needed -- plenty of pillows, blankets, towels, dishes, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & board, etc. There was NO smell, except CLEAN when we stayed. And, it was quiet. Granted, the "continental breakfast" lacked a lot, but the cost per night on the main street in the mountains, with jacuzzi tub & fireplace, you just can't beat the value.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Whoever did the website deserves an award. This place is most importantly a "motel" and you enter from outside your room. It smells of mold and smoke despite non-smoking signs. The decor is out of 1980. There were two black bugs under my sheet. Of course upon seeing that we searched the room for more and wanted to switch rooms but the front desk closes at 9! The stairwells are filthy at 59.99 off an interstate truck exit, maybe, but not at $200. The place needs to be bulldozed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The website makes the property look very appealing. However, there were many awful aspects to our 3-night stay. The room/suite was spacious, but left much to be desired > It had a constant odor, very dim lighting, uncomfortable sofa, a too soft bed, only one small table (round) which was difficult to use for personal computing, The interior could be best described as "tired." The continental breakfast was as minimal as possible, basically cereal, toast, orange juice, and coffee. The wireless internet only worked in the breakfast room and worked only one day in our 3-day stay. Motor cycle guests were very disturbing as they rev'ed it up while we were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Mile, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great staff was very helpful. Weather was horrible which was not their fault. Rooms were quite comfortable as was the main lobby area.

Room Tip: We had a king patio on the bottom level. The staff was excellent and very helpful. A microwave in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our stay at the Highlands Suite was fine, room was clean and comfortable, maid left us plenty of clean towels and coffee upon cleaning the next day. The only thing I didn't like was the outside lights did not come on until well after dark. We had to go out around 9 pm and it was very dark...When we got up the next morning around 6am they were on..I am guessing they are on a timer...wish they would change the timer..Other than the total darkness overall not much to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Park on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park on Main

Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands
Highlands Hotel
Address: 205 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Highlands Suite Hotel)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management, this "all suite" hotel offers the utmost in comfort! The separate living room affords a spacious area for easy entertaining with a refrigerator, fully equipped kitchen, and dining area. A Continental breakfast is provided every morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Park on Main to your Saves list