We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Irish Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claddagh Bar & Restaurant

Claddagh Bar & Restaurant
130 E Parris Ave, High Point, NC 27262
(336) 841-0521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 243 restaurants in High Point
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
High Point, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Irish Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This small and unassuming little restaurant is such a pleasant surprise. Don't let the outside fool you... its not an Irish pub with basket food. It is a really nice, white linen restaurant on the inside with authentic food served by irish staff. It does have a little pub off to the side, but the food is superb... it's not cheap... but well worth the prices. We love it. The shepherd's pie is a fave of mine. Definitely a sleeper, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    23
    6
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely give it a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have been going to the Claddagh for years. The food and service are always wonderful. The atmosphere is cozy and the bar truly feels like an Irish pub. They also serve brunch on Saturday and Sunday which is always a treat. Definitely give it a try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ate here for my birthday lunch. The decor was nice, the tables had white table cloths, it gave you the feeling you were doing something special. The service was very good, the food was excellent and prepared in a attractive matter. We enjoyed our meal very much and I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The emerald gem that you pass by every day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have passed this restaurant many times and never ventured in. What a poor choice I have been making all these years...
What a surprise this restaurant is. Its a tidy place, with a ample bar area fitting the image expected of a irish pub. Very woody and plenty of tall stools at the bar.

The restaurant is very spacious for the image you get from the exterior. The seating seems to go on and on. We were seated right away on a friday night. Immediately we were delivered water and the menus and offered a beverage. I chose the Guiness on tap. It arrived with a nice creamy head. The appetizers were appealing but we elected to snack on the warm fresh bread and selected out entrées. Your choice of fresh soup of the day or salad and 2 sides was plenty. An appetizer would have been too much and might have affected my desire to try the desserts.

The bread was served with softened butter, slightly sweetened and went well the irish soda bread. The soft raisins, butter and the coarse bread provided a great taste combo.

My soup was tomato bisque. my dw had the salad. The soup was mild and warm. The texture was smooth and satisfying. The salad was served with baby bitter greens and her selection of the fresh made cranberry vinegrette dressing.

Our entrees arrived soon after we finished our salad, Good timing to the server. My plate consisted of a ample piece of angus filet mounted on a large cookspoon full of garlic mashed potatoes. To the side were the julienned sauteed seasonal vegetables. This is not your average frozen medley but was abviously fresh and creatively made. It was topped with a splash of basalmic dressing. The plate was completed with a bordelaise sauce generously poured over the beef. The beef was excellently cooked. This chef knew his business. I ordered it rare and indeed it was, however the exterior of the piece was nice and crusty to really bring out the roasted beefy flavor. This was definitely one of the best filets ever.

My dw had the chicken florentine, and she said it was good, and quite honestly, after having my dish, nothing could have stood its competition, so my review of that dish is abbreviated.

The blueberry bread pudding is generous and topped with fresh whipped sweetened creme. We shared the ample portion and it topped off an excellent evening. We will return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Better than Expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We picked this restaurant for the Irish bar/beer aspect, but were pleasantly surprised by the yummy food. My husband's Ruben was delicious and my blackened chicken salad was really well prepared. The highlight of the meal was the Irish soda bread in the bread basket - wow! And of course the Irish beer and cider were excellent!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Claddagh Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claddagh Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.