We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tex and Shirley's

Tex and Shirley's
4005 Precision Way, High Point, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 245 Restaurants in High Point
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I've visited a few times and each time the food was great. Service was mediocre. Ill be back for the food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home town breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tex and Shirley's has been here forever and if I really want to celebrate breakfast at any time of the day....this is where I go....the pancakes are great and I can get them any way I want them...love the banana and pecan pancakes......this is a place where comfort food is served....the interior is a bit dated but if you just want a down home breakfast, you will get it here...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family visited Tex and Shirley's a couple of times now. Its just a good place for breakfast. They have a large menu with many options. My favorite is the omlette's. I would recommend Tex and Shirley's and look forward to coming back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“A real breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was either this one or the one in Greensboro. But I bet both are good. The waiter was patient with our questions since we're still new to Southern cooking. We love to try new things. It was nice to have a mature and kind waiter. It was clean and comfortable. My husband said the coffee was very good. A real good filler-upper. I was tempted to the pumpkin pancakes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, food only slightly better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is the first and last visit to the restaurant. Walked in the door and was promptly greeted by "no one". Stood there for a couple of minutes and someone finally showed up to seat us. After sitting for about 5 minutes the waitress showed up to get a drink order, came back a few minutes later and we ordered the standard breakfast fare. Eggs, bacon pancakes etc. The food was okay, nothing especially noteworthy nor was it horrible either, except for the fact that they had the very worst "maple syrup" I've ever eaten. Anyway we finished and left to pay. The lady running the cash register was texting when we came up to pay. For a solid minute and a half she never even glanced up but just kept texting. Finally we paid and also commented about how poor the syrup was and she said nothing. We left and will never return. BTW, they do not accept American Express cards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tex and Shirley's also viewed

 

Been to Tex and Shirley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tex and Shirley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.