We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep trying...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy G's Tavern

Sammy G's Tavern
3800 Tinsley Drive, High Point, NC 27265
336-884-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 245 Restaurants in High Point
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I keep trying...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

3rd visit. Keep thinking it will get better. The atmosphere and staff are great, food is middle of the road at best. Applebees with a better atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Never fails... awesome food service and hospitality, never had bad experience. Thank you. Try about whole menu and never had a bad dish, tasty and good looking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We go here a lot. The food is consistently good and we always have exceptional service. Their menu has something for everyone. The nanas foster is a must have. The prices are good for the quality you receve.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I am in town visiting a friend and she recommended this restaurant for lunch. First of all there is a nice variety of foods to choose from and the prices are reasonable. The appetizers and entries were well presented and very tasty. The seafood is very good. The lobster nachos, fried oysters and crab cakes were delicious. Our server, Jeffery made this an exceptional experience. He may be the most attentive, friendly and most thorough server that I have ever had. He seems like he loves his job and it shows. I would love to come back here and definitely will any chance I get.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Usually out of this world, horrible experience this time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Eat here all the time. Usually love it. Horrible experience this time.

All but one of us ordered steaks. All great. The one who didn’t order steak ordered the special, lamb chops. The restaurant ran out of them. They never asked our guest what he wanted to substitute. Maybe he would have wanted chicken or fish or ribs? They auto-substituted a strip steak. An arbitrary substitution? Ever heard of that? Me either.

The manager was argumentative and defended the decision, essentially saying they can do whatever they want. They did refund that portion of the meal. Not really the point though, is it? What if the customer doesn’t eat what’s being substituted? What if there are allergies? What if he/she hates the choice? Not the case fortunately, as he eats strip steak, but again – why the arbitrary decision?

An arbitrary substitution?

We’ll go Austin’s next time instead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy G's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sammy G's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy G's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.