We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, very clean, and excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hickory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hickory to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hickory
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1956 13th Avenue Drive SE, Hickory, NC 28602   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hickory
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Modern, very clean, and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Modern decor, very clean, and excellent service! Were very helpful with re-registration due to inclement weather. Very quiet rooms. Enjoyed staying in their nicest room last year. Love Hampton Inns but this one is especially nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    56
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
92
52
17
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good location, updated décor, pleasant staff. The response to my report that there was no water (hot or otherwise) coming from the sink faucet when the handle was placed in the "hot" position --"let the water run". Despite my Gold status, they treated me like I had never stayed in a hotel before. No apology, no offer to adjust my bill. Not sure what the 100% Satisfaction guarantee is all about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Interstate. Road noise is a reality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hickory, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our property and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. I again, apologize for the poor level of service, and we want you to know that we will address our team and make the necessary corrections. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love this place. The people are so friendly and they always greet me like long lost Family. The rooms are always clean and very comfortable. The only knock is that several of these rooms have a problem with the hot water. Certain items of the day the hot water never gets hot. This is clearly a design flaw but one that they can not fix. I always turn the hot water on before unpacking and switch rooms if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is the nicest Hampton Inn we have stayed in. The rooms must have been recently updated, with a modern yet comfortable feel. Large room with a large bathroom. Friendly staff and fast check-in. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Hickory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We typically stay at Hampton Inns when available. The Hampton Inn at 13th Ave is FAR superior to most, We were told that the inn was three years old; however, it looks newly built due to the meticulous attention of the staff. Beginning at the the front desk as the young lady answered the phone with "Good afternoon, award winning Hampton Inn." followed by the maintance man in the laundry room checking for a leak and bending to pick up a piece of paper. By the way, SURPRISE! the laundry is FREE, no coin slots. Later that afternoon we met a lady in charge of the breakfast area who was forced by the inclement weather to stay the night. She was most engaging without being overly so. The next morning she recognized us again, and was welcoming. At this inn they go the extra mile for breakfast: fresh blueberries and strawberries. As we returned to our room for our bags a young man with a dustbin and broom smiled and politely waited for us to pass. Either Hickory is known for its polite people, as is Charleston, SC, or staff training is certainly an emphasis at the establishment. We will definitely recommend it to friends!
Jan 25/26, 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This Hampton is very well run, clean, beautiful lobby, great location. Behind hotel is the convention center. Carrabbas Italian in parking lot plus more dining options on the same street. Starbucks just a few blocks away at the interchange. I like staying here (twice so far) and will be returning in April.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg fl
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is like new and is extremely clean. The staff was wonderful. My nine year old left a note to the staff(his own idea) telling them how nice the room was and how he appreciated how clean it was and the bed so comfy. The continental breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel like this. Wish there was a hotel like this in every major city! My one and only complaint was they put the cookies away too early in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hickory

Address: 1956 13th Avenue Drive SE, Hickory, NC 28602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hickory
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hickory
#1 Family Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hickory 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hickory Hotel Hickory
Hickory Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hickory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.