We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The high point of our weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Hickory

The Inn at Hickory
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Hickory to your Saves list
The Inn at Hickory
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   464 Seventh Street, S.W., Hickory, NC 28602 (Formerly Hickory Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hickory B&B and Inns
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The high point of our weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We decided to turn our business trip into a weekend retreat prior to the work week. A great decision! We couldn’t have been happier! Our room was quite comfortable, and the inn was beautiful. The innkeepers, Chaz and his wife, were such wonderful hosts. He was very helpful in recommending local restaurants, and the best places to furniture shop. Breakfast was fantastic! The fruit plate and pastries alone were enough to keep us satisfied. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests over breakfast. Even though breakfast seemed busy, Chaz made sure we were all taken care of, while being very charming. Having a chef cooking breakfast was a real treat! We had such a great time, we will make sure to return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

My only experience with this Bed & Breakfast was in the attempt to make a reservation. Their website is great. Both times I called they answered the phone, didn't have to receive a call back (not a bad thing having to leave a message, just saying they were available) The innkeeper, Chaz, asked me the appropriate questions in taking the reservation: name, room I wanted, time of arrival, credit card information, etc. I had observed on the website that they offered various discounts which I mentioned early in my conversation. This seemed to really irritate Chaz. (read on...)
At the conclusion of gathering the reservation information that Chaz needed, I asked for a total on the cost of the one night stay...since there would be a discount appied. Once Chaz found a calculator, he seemed to have trouble with it working properly so I asked how would one figure the total...room rate minus discount then apply tax, or room rate plus tax then subtract the discount? He seemed to get very edgy and said, "I know how to do it, I just can't ....<unintelligible>"
I said, "thats okay, I can...." Chaz interupted and said, "No, No, you asked for the amount, thats what I'm going to give you."
I was very taken back but waited. He did give me the total and tagged it with "...is that okay? or would you rather find another place to stay?"
At this, I am truly wondering who might be on the other end of the line...is this really the innkeeper of this establishment? I said, "no, that fine. I am on your website right now and I can see the prices so I know what the approximate amount was going to be." Chaz: "Are you sure?" "Do you have any other questions?"
I did want to know if they had other guests booked, if so, how many. Chaz explained since it was Easter weekend they had no other guests...."is that okay? or do you think you might want to go somewhere else?"
By now, I'm no longer impressed with this establishment at all because of this conversation. I ask Chaz why he would suggest I stay somewhere else. He tells me that I am being abrasive, and he feels interrogated with the questions (he had asked me twice if I had any questions for him), that I had mentioned the discount 3x but he could understand that since he is a businessman (oh...really?) and since he would want my stay to be the very best I could experience, he just didn't know if he could provide that for me.
I was completely astounded at this coming from this "businessman's" point of view, especially someone in the hospitality field. I then agreed with Chaz and said "I think you're right, you should go ahead and cancel this reservation."
Amazing!....BTW, I did call 3 other B&B in the immediate area...one was full and the other two had only 1-2 rooms available each...so seems Easter weekend is going to be a fairly normal and profitable one for other B&B's of the area. Will be writing a review on where I did find a room...right down the road.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

While planning our trip to Hickory to see some friends we decided to make it a more romantic getaway and choose to go with a bed and breakfast, and what a wonderful choice we made in The Inn at Hickory.

Chaz was a wonderful host to the inn, and saw to all of our needs. Since it snowed on the night of our arrival, our Saturday activities were pretty well shot. The inn was quite and Chaz had no problem with a couple of our friends visiting and playing some games and watching a movie. He even set out extra coffee cups for everyone.

The inn itself was very nicely decorated, and the room was excellent. The only thing I would have liked was a small desk or secretary to sit my laptop at. The common areas were wonderful, comfortable and inviting.

We plan to return someday, maybe when snow has not shut the town down.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

House was well furnished and conveniently located. Rooms are very clean and well furnished. Excellent support from hosts and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

The Inn at Hickory (464 7th street), has the greatest service and innkeepers we have come across in a long time. That is saying A LOT since we really like B&B's! The House is beautiful and very tastefully decorated (mix of new and antique), not overcrowded. The rooms were large, CLEAN and very nice, with excellent linens, mattress, pillows, toiletries, etc. They have lots of magazines, reading materials available (little library, w/ large TV).


Chef Chaz was incredibly helpful - he printed out mapquest directions for us to all the locations we were visiting (including restaurants)! We had the most amazing breakfast we've ever had at a B&B - we could pick the time (as early as 6 if we needed it!). And we had a half-dozen menu entree options (all fresh) - plus fresh fruit, eggs, and homemade pastries (tiny puff, cream-filled, and cakes). They even do breakfast in bed. We were so sad we couldn't stay longer to take advantage of that offer!


The only negative was that like many old houses, or B&B's it is a little creaky and the window A/C unit was a bit loud (although it was new, efficient, and NOT stinky/moldy) - but we are also light sleepers.... The neighborhood and other houses seem a bit neglected compared to the the Inn which stands out next to the neighbors. But we were still able to take a pleasant walk.


We can't wait to go back! It had better service, was more pleasant, and was much less expensive than the B&B's we've stayed at in Blowing Rock or even Asheville!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hickory

Address: 464 Seventh Street, S.W., Hickory, NC 28602 (Formerly Hickory Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Hickory 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Hickory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.