We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Cauliflower Fritters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Hickory Station

Old Hickory Station
232 Government Ave SW, Hickory, NC 28602
(828) 322-2356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 196 Restaurants in Hickory
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
“Marvelous Cauliflower Fritters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A couple of weeks ago I visited for the first time since the reopen. Lovely place. I enjoyed browsing through the store and food we ordered for lunch was outstanding. My friend suggested we split the cauliflower fritters for an appetizer. Sounded good but they were awesome! Melt in your mouth. Everything we got was delicious and the Spumoni cake I ordered for dessert? Delicious but it took me 3 days to eat it. Literally! My only disappointment was that our server seemed very rushed and she did not seem knowledgeable about the menu. My friend asks a lot of questions and our server and to keep going to ask. She couldn't answer a simple "is this good?" question. But she was friendly and she tried. Over all it was a good experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is an amazing place. It is a new restaurant that is redefining greatness. My wife and I came hear on a date night. I had the Boston meatloaf with Gorgonzola Brussels sprouts, an garlic Gouda shells and cheese. Seriously the best meatloaf I have every had. ( including my own) the wait staff was great and they have a amazing fresh market in the front of the store. Every is made from regional good and made fresh from scratch. We finished the night with tiramisu which was amazing. You have to try this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy we found it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

WOW! We went furniture shopping in Hickory so we probably won't be returning any time soon BUT I would drive back just to revisit this restaurant. Excellent experience, excellent food. The staff at the front door were gracious, our waitress, Meghan, was extremely upbeat, fun & patient with all our questions. We shared the beet and arugula salad and they split it prior to serving us. It was beyond a generous portion as a split salad which we were thrilled with since we both were starving. My husband ordered the Irish Burger and I the scallops and risotto. The scallop presentation was something you would expect out of a very fancy high end restaurant and I highly recommend them. We ended the evening with a dessert (though we were full) because everything is made on site--so we could not resist. Pricing is very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connelly Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to dinner last night at the Old Hickory Station and had the shrimp and grits. All I can say is YUMMMMMM!!! The food was delicious the bartenders were efficient and extremely nice (we sat at the bar) and I can't wait to go back. This is the second time I have been there and both times were a great success.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart,FL
1 review
“Restaurant Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A very nice Experience In the old train station Depot. Good food reasonably priced. I would go back again when I am in Hickory, North Carolina

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hickory Station also viewed

 

Been to Old Hickory Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Hickory Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.