We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hickory

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hickory to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hickory
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 13th Avenue Drive SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5183   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Hickory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I'm an Embassy Suites person so I didn't have high hopes for this hotel but I trusted other reviewers. Don't get me wrong, this isn't up to ES standards but for a BW, this is a great hotel. I loved being able to unload from the truck with just a few steps to the door of the room. The lobby is really nice, we had coffee and hot chocolate in the evening and watched tv in the lobby. The breakfast was nicer than the standard breakfast (they do need to improve the waffles though). The people were very pleasant. The room was a little small but it still fit 5 of us okay. Since it was just one night we were fine but I wouldn't have wanted to squeeze in one room for another night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    58
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
64
45
14
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've been spoiled the past few years having stayed exclusively at Comfort Suites hotels, but we were VERY impressed with this one. The rooms weren't as spacious, and the beds were doubles instead of queens but that's all that didn't compare - but then again, neither did the price! The staff was very friendly and acommodating, the continental breakfast had a big selection of items, the room was VERY clean and comfortable, the pool felt nice and secluded because it was surrounded by tall and thick foliage, and although our view out the window was the interstate - we never even heard it. The microwave, coffeemaker and fridge in-room was a real bonus. Another benefit was that it was 5 minutes from EVERYTHING! Great location, great value, great people... I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked same day for a 2 night stay. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is close to shopping and is walking distance to restaurants, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights while we visited family. The young man, Jason, who helped at check-in was immaculately dressed (reminded me of very expensive hotels) and extremely professional. I had booked online 2 queens because there was an option for a king, but he found a king (upped the $ by $4). The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Internet slow at times, never happy about that. The breakfast area was beautiful and so cheery for the morning. I liked that they had a slip in the guest services book that asked you for things around the room that needed to be fixed. I certainly filled that out.☺ We''ll stay here next fall for the class reunion!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Booked on Priceline, excellent value. My son and I arrived one hour prior to guaranteed check in of 3 p.m. and found staff professional and polite, offering one second floor room, which we declined in favor of waiting an hour. Room and bathroom looked clean, smelled clean, temperature was easy to manage, everything worked as it should. Wireless was a little slow from time to time, but not problematic. For the super picky, be aware that the vanity, toilet, and tub/shower are together in one room, so if you're sharing with more than one person, take that into consideration.

The complimentary breakfast was adequate, although very crowded Sunday morning around 8 a.m. I did tell the front desk staff that the waffles would not release from the waffle baker very easily, and I noticed the hostess helping/instructing guests on getting their waffles out in one piece. A can of nonstick spray close by would probably have solved the problem. The coffee/tea service was up 24/7 and was well stocked with a variety of flavors.

Lots of restaurants are nearby and there is a delivery service that picks up from a dozen or more of them. Valley Hills Mall and other retail establishments are close by, also.

Common areas were clean, everthing looked fairly new and well cared for. The outdoor trash cans seemed to be full for the two nights we were there, but that was the only area of cleanliness that I found really lacking.

For the price, this was a great value - quiet area and we felt safe!

Room Tip: Interior hallway first floor close to pool and lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in of any my trips around the Country. Very clean quiet comfortable room,nice working desk,refrigerator & microwave in room,great breakfast included with wide variety of choices. Great secluded pool,clean and tucked away from most rooms. Even though it sits adjacent to I-40,I heard very little traffic noise. Staff was very friendly,and breakfast area is huge and inviting. Stayed one night while visiting my wife's family,and will definitely stay in here in any future visits to the area. Only possible negative for some is that there is no elevator to second floor rooms. Be aware of this and choose accordingly. Valley Hills Mall & Furniture Mart are less than a mile away. Restaurants and other shopping abound,including a cafeteria just across the parking lot. Community college is also nearby on US 70.

Room Tip: Had a room with 2 doubles on second floor--very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just passing thru on our way to Tn. this hotel was very nice. great staff. Very clean rooms that were totally updated. Great continental breakfast. And resonably priced. If I am ever in the area again I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickory

Address: 1520 13th Avenue Drive SE, Hickory, NC 28602-5183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hickory 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hickory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.