We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1385 Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard SE, Hickory, NC 28602 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Hickory
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I first went to the Hampton and found them to be way over priced for the market that they are in. I drove by the Crowne Plaza on the way to the Hampton, it the Crowne Plaza was so large and I know Crowne Plaza's to be many steps above business economy hotels like the Hampton. The Hampton was 159.00 which is above what my Company will pay. For kicks and giggles after I left the Hampton I drove to the Crowne Plaza to see what their rate was. They were 2/3 the price of the Hampton and their free breakfast was light years above anything the Hampton offers. When I checked in Allen was very helpful in telling me all the aminities that the hotel offered. He was so helpful that I would feel guilty if I ate anywhere other than the hotel. I enjoyed my dinner very much as well as the on site bar. This Hotel is by far the best deal in the Hickory area. Ask for Allen, tell him Ray sent you. I am sure he won't remember me however I will remember where to stay every month when I come to Hickory on business. With Respect - Ray

Room Tip: Ask for Allen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you WRShort39 for the great review. We are very proud to say we have an excellent front desk staff. We are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    41
    25
    21
    9
See reviews for
35
30
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake VA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival this hotel seems pretty nice. The staff was polite and helpful. However, when we came back from dinner i knew it was going to be a long night. The road noise was quite loud. I understand the hotel can't do anything about the traffic but the can use better windows and charge less for 1st floor rooms facing the street/lot. Of course the road noise didn't compare the hotel's internal noises. Guests were loud in the hallway throughout the night and from the sounds of it a porn movie may have been being shot in the rooms next door. We even heard someone in the hallway comment on it.
While reading previous reviews i saw that someone said they slept in the hotel's sleep advantage zone. I believe we were in the sleep disadvantage zone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear nyyn8v,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had another wonderful experience at the Crowne in Hickory, you guys are great. I always feel so pampered. I must say yet again you exceeded my expectations, my room was perfect. I decided to spend one of my evening in and order room service....simply amazing!!! The food was delicious and prompt. I could not have gotten the same quality of food across the street at the steakhouse nor that quickly. I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza for anyone visiting the area or just to have a "stay"-cation (the indoor pool is cool too)!

Room Tip: They have "quiet zones" request them if you want to sleep without alot of weekend disturba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My organization frequently holds professional development at the Crowne Plaza and time and time again we are amazed by the top notch service we receive from the staff. In particular, Lisa Brooks meets our every need. She is friendly, accommodating and most importantly, genuine. During lunch our participants were exceedingly satisfied with the service of Kim Miller, Barbara Duvall, and Desiree Horne. You ladies really rock. We look forward to next time. You set the bar when it comes to quality customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Price was better then Hampton Inn,there was no breakfast but that was OK with us. there was coffee in the lobby and lots of restaurants near by. The bed was soft but comfortable. Nice quiet room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My girlfriend accidentally dropped her credit card in the parking lot without knowing. Jason was kind enough to find her credit card and find us in our room amd deliver it to us safe and sound.

This shows great customer service. Everyone was friendly and eager to assist us. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a great time here! The employees were very helpful. Thanks " Allen " at the front desk. This trip was a great one because of my stay here. I am ready for the day when I get up in the morning! You should try the Crowne Plaza for your self and see what it holds for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40

Address: 1385 Lenoir Rhyne Boulevard SE, Hickory, NC 28602 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing business and pleasure with style and ease is no problem for Crowne Plaza of Hickory. Located in the beautiful Catawba Valley and less than an hour s drive from the magnificent Blue Ridge Mountains, as well as the Charlotte Douglas Airport, Crowne Plaza of Hickory is only minutes away from the famous Hickory Furniture Mart, Hickory Motor Speedway, the birthplace of Nascar, Lenoir-Rhyne University, the Historic Downtown area of Hickory known as Union Square, as well as the modern eclectic shopping malls. Lodging in our hotel provides business travelers quick access to almost all major corporations in the Catawba County Area. Unlike other Hickory area hotels, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Hickory helps guests stay well rested with specialized Sleep Advantage amenities, including plush bedding and guaranteed wake-up calls. Our spacious guest rooms include complimentary high-speed internet access, allowing you to stay in touch while visiting for leisure or business. The Crowne Plaza of Hickory provides anyone planning a business meeting or social event 12,000 square feet of versatile meeting space and superior service to ensure your event is a huge success!. Most of all, our guests appreciate how our Southern hospitality makes comfort and convenience a top priority. Come discover Hickory and experience exceptional service and hospitality at the Crowne Plaza of Hickory ..We re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hickory i-40 Hotel Hickory
Holiday Inn Hickory

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.