We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Hickory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn & Suites Hickory to your Saves list
Days Inn & Suites Hickory
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 13th Ave. Dr., N.W., Hickory, NC 28601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Hickory
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for Mothers Day in a jucuzzi room at this motel and was very pleased! The room 329 was very large with an extra large jucuzzi tub in the bathroom had a kingbed wetbar sofa etc..very nice room! Only one small problem the door of this room was having some problems and we got locked out for a short while. Gordon the front desk clerk went above and beyond his duty to get the door open and get us moved to the room 318.He was very polite and proffesional while getting our door open and trying to keep the front desk going down stairs.Over all we had a great trip and was refunded alittle off of the room for our trouble with the door lock and having to move rooms at 9:30 pm so that was great.We will be back to this Quality Inn the next time we go to Hickory!

Room Tip: when we go back we will ask for room 329...hope they get the door fixed...that was a wonderful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Hickory, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    21
    19
    21
See reviews for
34
23
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is really good hotel but not conveniently located near anything if that's a concern for you. Had a good night's rest there - beds are comfy, linens are nice, and bed covers have good weight to them. As other's mentioned, the breakfast is good but not because of the food, but where it is. On the second floor there's an entire landing that has a bar and dining area. Just have something nice like that makes the food automatically taste better. Internet was great, sound insulation seemed fine, I slept like a baby. And for the price you can get a room at a hotel with interior hallways, how the heck can you beat it?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Hickory, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hickory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I will start off by saying that whilst trying to check into this hotel I cursed an adult for the very first time. I have stayed in the hotel a hand full of times with my husband, always, he paid or the room was paid for already by his boss. Except for this weekend. It was a mess. One front desk man told me one thing, I was ready to check in that night and it went down hill from there. When the man said that I could not rent the room with MY money, because I am only 20, I started to get upset, more on the side of tears than anger. The man seen this and instantly jumped to complete rudeness. Upsetting me further, and my husband. He would not allow us to rent a room, because I am only 20. I asked if my husband could, but no, he could not because it was my card.(when another man had earlier told me that we could do so) he was rude, would not work with us, from the time that we walked up to the counter he was very sour with us. Only a slight, tight smile to welcome us after a 3 hour drive and 2 in the morning and a long log day. We stayed somewhere else and will never be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Hickory, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Please email me at kellychadwick@hgmhotels with your contact information. I'd like to speak to you personally regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very clean and roomy except for losing battle with wallpaper at top of tub enclosure. Trying to keep the edges down with plastic strips only makes it worse and invites mold. Also, bathroom door jambs are starting to rust. Beds are very comfortable and the linens are excellent. The first floor housekeeping/laundry room is a problem. The staff are allowed to smoke in there and our towels had a definite smoke odor. Breakfast is an A+ Well stocked, very clean, wide variety of eggs, meats, cereals, waffles, etc. If they can correct the smoking in the laundry room it would be rated very good. Also correcting the wallpaper would move it up to excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Hickory, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and recommendations. We certainly hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just wanted a room for the night before an academic competition at Lenoir-Rhyne; The hotel was well-positioned to the school. The room was comfortable although the heater is loud and came on and off frequently so our sleep was not ideal. As commented on frequently by others, the breakfast is quite good and makes the value for the money very reasonable.
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to visit family in the area. We were pleasantly surprised with the size and quality of the room for the rate paid. King suite with sofa, chair, 37 inch flat screen and kitchenette for what we normally pay for a standard room in a 2 star hotel. The icing was the excellent free breakfast in the morning. Eggs sausage and biscuits looked and tasted homemade.
There are a lot of hotels in the area but will always try to book here first when visiting family or on business.
The front desk, decor, quietness and cleanliness is excellent. The only deficit I noticed was the out side doors to enter the buildings were unlocked for anyone to enter. They probably should be room key-carded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We always try to stay at this Hotel when visitng family in Hickory on our way home. They also serve one of the best breakfest if not the best of most Hotels we have seen. There are great restaurants in this area, it is close to a lot of activities for family, Lake Hickory & Ski areas witihn a short travel distance.

Room Tip: Restaurant meaning breakfest bar. Rooms are nice but outdated comapred to newer hotels, but very cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn & Suites Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Hickory

Address: 1725 13th Ave. Dr., N.W., Hickory, NC 28601
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Hickory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Hickory 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Hickory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hickory
Hickory Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Hickory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.