We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hendersonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Mountain Inn
2849 Laurel Park Highway, Hendersonville, NC 28739   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
ATLANTA AREA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Location is great up a romantically winding Road. Inn does not make photos. Inn needs a good cleaning and updating.

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service. Window air conditioners can be noisy. This property has awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The "inn" is an old stone house with a detached wing of motel type rooms. The common areas in the inn seemed old and worn out and included musty old indoor/outdoor style carpeting that needs to be replaced. Upon arrival there was no one to greet us - just a sign saying to pick up our room key and proceed to our room. Seemed very odd and not very welcoming. We sort of roamed around not quite sure of what to do. We stayed in the annex of motel rooms which are standard, driveup motel rooms. They were fine and even had a small efficiency kitchen area. Seemed clean, just outdated as was the bathroom which was very small. We didn't have the opportunity to see any of the guest rooms in the inn itself.

Breakfast is served buffett style each morning in a large dining area. Again, very musty and outdated, but the food was good.

The inn is located near the top of a small mountain and the drive is a little harrowing at night.

The price seemed fair especially considering we went during peak season. Overall it's a good option if you're on a budget and one of the few inns I found in the mountains where children are welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you are looking for a quaint inn out of the way, full of charm and old character, this place is great. I stayed in the Pretty Plum room for the stone fireplace and romance. It was great. The fireplace was stacked with wood and ready to light when I got to the room. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had been completely updated. Everything was clean and tidy. Great view out of the large picture window of the valley and mountains. So quiet at night! It is old and the floors creak and it smells like an old place, but it was everything I expected. The staff was very friendly. No one was there when I arrived Sat. evening but all the info I needed was left at the front desk. Great place for a romantic rendezvous. Will definitely be returning if I have the chance.

Room Tip: The Pretty Plum room was the end room on an outdoor hallway so was private. Had a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I just spent a few days at this inn and we enjoyed our stay for the most part. We stayed in the cozy Americana room, which was very clean with a comfortable bed and working fireplace with a big walk-in closet. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo and ventiliation was provided by a window that could open over the tub. A hook on the door for a robe would have been helpful. The room description on the inn's website led us to believe that we would have a private veranda, but the entry door opens up on a wooden walkway that guests use to access the main inn so there wasn't much privacy. The room was heated by a small portable electric heater, which provided enough heat until the weather turned cold and windy on our last night and then it got a little chilly. The breakfast fare was simple with cold cereal, toast, bagels, and muffins.The grounds were well-kept; the views were beautiful; and the staff was friendly. The inn is about a five minute drive from Hendersonville and is located in a peacful, wooded residential area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottageville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I booked 4 rooms with at the Echo Inn for a family weekend celebrating my Fathers 70th Birthday. My family was counting on me to have a nice place for us to stay. We all enjoyed the peaceful and beautiful setting, but was very disappointed in the rooms. After arriving and checking in, we had to put all the window up and go fine air freshners to try and knock out the musky order. Smelled really old. It was terrible. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My Husband and I along with another couple spent a few days at the Echo Inn and we loved it. Perfect mountain location, very close to Hendersonville and Brevard. The InnKeeper was a great guy and shared with us about the Inn and it's owners. It was a great place to spend time with our friends, talking and drinking coffee in the Florida room. Breakfast was good, didn't feel rushed to eat and get out of the dining room. Our room had a fireplace of course it was 91 degrees so we didn't get to use it. The Inn has a beautiful serene atmosphere, and wonderful history. Pool looked nice just put my feet in but that felt good.

Enjoyed the Apple Festival, shops, Grand Daddy Apple Orchard and eating at the Tractor Shed and the Firepit. Hope to go back and stay at the Inn when it is cooler. Would love to take some couples from our church and enjoy the quiet and time together focusing on God and His design for marriage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Echo Mountain Inn is nestled in the hills Hendersonville, NC. It's a short hop to Asheville and to numerous adventures. If you're the outdoor type then you'll love the variety of hiking opportunities leading to beautiful waterfalls. If shopping or historical adventure is more your liking then you won't be disappointed! The area abounds with multiple opportunities for adventure and fun!

Echo Inn is a quaint B & B situated near the top of Echo Mountain. The sunrises are spectacular, the food is excellent, and the staff is always ready to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of North Carolina then this is a place for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Echo Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Mountain Inn

Address: 2849 Laurel Park Highway, Hendersonville, NC 28739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Echo Mountain Hotel Hendersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Echo Mountain Inn to your Saves list