We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese-Asian Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of umi

umi
633 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC
828-698-8048
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 150 restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Saluda, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Japanese-Asian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My favorite place to eat in Hendersonvile. Alway fresh and beautify;;y presented food. We have never been disappointed here. There is also a Grill in another location near town

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    62
    31
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This place has the BEST sushi around. It is so fresh. I have tried every roll and they were all delicious. The atmosphere is great and the service has always been up to par.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi in the mountains!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Who would think you could get fresh sushi in a mountain town of North Carolina? My Saba(mackerel) and sweet shrimp were as fresh as I have ever had , and I eat sushi often. They only order in small quantities so I guess thats the secret. Sushi roll selection was average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great sushi !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Best sushi this side of Tokyo. We enjoy this restaurant on all our family's special occassions. Large variety of menu items for those who do not enjoy sushi.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have been here several times. Great service and food. Sushi and tempura are always delicious. Take something for children to do while they wait. Handmade food takes time to prepare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed umi also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage umi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.