We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Mex for Eastern US of A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa's & Beer

Papa's & Beer
1821 Asheville Hwy, Hendersonville, NC 28791-2309
828-692-9915
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Fort Morgan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“High End Mex for Eastern US of A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I lived in Colorado for 25 years and I am kind of spoiled. I have to say this is the best MEX I have had since moving back to the Southeast. The pork dishes seem to be the best but they are all pretty good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    57
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Off the Hook Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We lived in TX for 3 years and CA for another 3. But this beats all them like a rented mule. From the bean dip to the Salsa Bar.
Had the Fajitas...awesome! They used real skirt steak and grilled it, unlike most others. Couldn't eat all 6 bucks worth.
Wife had a chicken and spinach dish that she said was the best Mexican dish she's ever had.
Service great; not clingy.
If you want REALLY good Mexican and refuse to go to Taco Bell; this joint's for you.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food, California Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Papa's is one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. Its unique california style makes it different from the rest. The salsa bar is fresh and diverse. I haven't had anything there that i don't like and I eat there all the time. I highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is the best Mexican Restaurant and our very favorite! Highly recommend! Worth the trip. Excellent all the way around. Great selection and very family friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Authentic and Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This restaurant certainly seems to be authentic with MANY locals and young folks. The food is tasty and plentiful. There is a self service salsa bar but a wonderful bean/cheese salsa is served with the chips the minute you sit down. It is very relaxed and casual and the food is served quickly. We had enchiladas and poblano peppers. The shredded beef in the enchiladas was outstanding. Wanted ever so badly to have fried ice cream but there just wasn't room. Another highlight was a great Golden Margarita on the rocks. Is your mouth watering yet? ;-)

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa's & Beer also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Papa's & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa's & Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.