We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza is to die for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West First

West First
101 West 1st Ave., Hendersonville, NC 28793
828.693.1080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Organic, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza is to die for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite places in Hendersonville, I have been multiple times. About 1 out of 10 times I go the pizza is not cooked as long as it should have been though. The Beer selection is good, and if you have time go downstairs to the Poe House, small place but great drinks. Make sure you get to West First Early because they do not take reservations, and trust me it is always busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    92
    20
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pizza in Hendersonville NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was my birthday so, for lunch, I chose a local pizza place. West First is really a restaurant which specializes in handcrafted wood-fired pizzas, organic pastas, salads, soups and more. Gluten-free items are available too. They're open for lunch and dinner. There are an assortment of pizzas available, healthy sandwiches and drinks. The pizza was delicious. I had a pepperoni pizza with mushroom. their sauce is slightly spicy. There are a number of specials and combo meals. Dining is on the main level and upstairs in a loft when the downstairs area gets filled. Next time in the area, I will stop here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Salads and Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We live in the area and frequent West First. Not only are they consistent with their food but the ingredients are fresh, well presented and they always have new dishes on special. We enjoy it every time we go; its a pleasurable place to dine and enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for lunch, not so for dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Food good, staff good but only at lunch. Have eaten there multiple times for both lunch and dinner and lunch is much better. Atmosphere at lunch completely different then dinner. Much more enjoyable. At dinner there is always a wait, the hostesses at the front are pretty indifferent and the staff harried.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza is so good to find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Don't miss this restaurant when you're in Hendersonville NC. The pizza was awesome. We only wish we lived closer. But maybe that's a good thing or we'd be there way too often. I loved the mosaic tile on the pizza oven. And the stained glass windows over the bar. Great atmosphere and decor. Even better food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West First also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to West First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.