We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and immensely friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1898 Waverly Inn to your Saves list
1898 Waverly Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   783 N. Main Street, Hendersonville, NC 28792   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and immensely friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although sadly we could only stay here for one night as part of an onward journey we were welcomed as we -parked the car with a lovely glass of wine and friendly chat. We were also shown to the various parts of the house we had access to, including the dining room where an excellent coffee machine was available to guests at any time, as well as a too delicious home made cake and cookies. Our room was small but adequate and was very clean and well-maintained. The bed was wonderfully comfortable with its mattresses and topper layers. The Ralph Lauren bedding felt crisp and immensely comfortable. Breakfast was very generous with a choice of entree. Parking is ample and free of charge. This hotel would make a great base for exploring the blue ridge mountains and we would unreservedly recommend this lovely hotel for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your brief stay and we hope that you will get the chance to come back to the area for a longer visit. You are correct that this is a great location for exploring Western North Carolina. So many great things to do in the area and Hendersonville is a central hub to much of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    33
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
148
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have visited the Waverly inn years ago and to was wonderful then but not in the past number of years and I must say it was wonderful then as it is now . I felt like I was home except the breakfast here was much better !! Diane and all the people there were wonderful and made you feel comfortable. WE WILL BE BACK !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your most recent visit as much as you had your previous visits. We hope that you don't wait so long to come back again! That wonderful breakfast is calling to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have never stayed in a B and B before, I thought there would be a lack of privacy. I was pleasantly surprised that my room at the Waverly was large and very quiet. it opened onto a large second-story porch that was a great spot to relax. The decor was a little dated but clean and comfortable. The owner was very entertaining with a wry sense of humor she exhibited at the evening wine event. Breakfast was wonderful featuring multi-grain pancakes and other house-made specialties. The Inn is located within a block of Hendersonville's charming downtown so walking to dinner and shopping is easy. I will stay here again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front rooms are adjacent to the upstairs porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your first B&B experience. We hope that you decide to try more B&B's in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The room was in very good condition, house has a lot of charm to it. It is located on a very busy street and we stayed in one of the front rooms but they give you ear plugs if that is a bother, it wasn't for us. The innkeepers are so friendly with and evening social thing, with wine and snacks plus a cake every night! Breakfast was great with a choice of many foods made to order and served like in a restaurant your own table, your server not a buffet type thing! The only thing I would complain about, which there isn't really anything that could be done, is our shower head is so low on the wall, my neck got really clean but I had to bend over to get my hair wet. I am 5ft 8inches, not sure how men handle it.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue when you sleep choose a room NOT in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and the evening tasting hour. Sorry that the shower head was too low. We hope you will come back and try a different room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I've stayed at this Inn 3 times over the past 10 years. It's not only a beautiful, well-appointed Inn, but it's the location, the staff, and the overall comfortable feeling I had that keeps us coming back. They are located just a short walk from many wonderful restaurants, shops, and activities. John, Diane, and Darla are so friendly and welcoming -- you won't want to leave.

If you like a large country breakfast, made to order -- you love the place for that alone! And you can choose whatever you like.

Room Tip: I made the reservation at the last minute, so I took the last room available. It was a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for being a returning guest! We love to get to know our guests that come again and again. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U>S>A>
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had booked a place in Hendersonville for a week, which upon arriving turned out to be disgusting.
After sitting on a chair all night, in early am, actually 7:02 we called the waverly and spoke with Diane. Explaining our dilemma, hoping she could help and save us from just driving the 5 hours back home.. Diane was much more than gracious and asked that we come immediately, she had a vacant room and we could have breakfast , then go to bed..We were able to be accommodated for for only 5 days due to the Inn being fully booked after that. later, Diane offered us the suite for one additional night and we quickly accepted..Would like to have stayed another week but on saturday the Inn was 100% booked.

It would be redundant for me to just repeat what so many other very satisfied guests have opined, but suffice to say this is 5 star..5 star all the way.. breakfast excellent, irish, steel cut oatmeal, home made sausage, farm fresh eggs ( delicious) fresh fruit and a daily special that is really special.

During the day there are home made cakes available as well as coffee etc and a plate of fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies that seem to never run out..One night, there was a apple pie and wow !!

Never heard a sound.. not a single sound..slept without interruption and the bed was more than comfy...the suite, if one is willing to upgrade is well worth the difference , with 2 tv's, very comfortable and quite large separate room with amenities, such as small frig and coffee pot etc.. the suite bed is a legit king and it just does not get any more comfy.

John, Diane, Darla, Debbie and Bridget make an extraordinary effort to make all guests comfortable, and the experience as perfect as perfect gets. While there, I talked with many guests and without exception the opinion was the same..Many had been there over and over again.

The Waverly is located a few blocks from downtown . walking there is enjoyable and we did so whenever possible.

Hendersonville is a special place, to visit or even live, choosing the Waverly for accommodations while there makes it that much better..

There is a social hour at 5-6 pm daily with wine etc and an incredibly good home made raspberry lemonade that is just delicious. Linen, including napkins at table, Service that is hardly possible to improve on.

If I were to make one suggestion it would be to slightly lengthen the breakfast hour, which is 8-9.. Understanding there may be a particular reason why this is not possible, but would be nice, especially on weekends.

About 1 mile to the north is Patton park..there you will find a 1/2 mile walking trail as well as a 2 mile walking trail..we did 2 miles each day and met many nice people while we walked..if a walker, this park would be appreciated, restrooms are available there.

John, Diane, Darla, Debbie and Bridget, we truly thank yolu so very much for a wonderful stay and the significant effort you make for the benefit of your guests to enjoy, be commfortable and satisfied with their visit at your lovely place.

Those interested might consider Liking the facebook page of Waverly.. Diane mentioned to me upon leaving that they will often put specials on there..Maybe one of those specials could come about the time you plan on being in Hendersonville and some money can be saved....to spend at the fine restaurants available within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are glad that we were able to help you out of a bad situation. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we too wish that it would have worked out for you to have stayed longer. We hope you will make another visit to the area and come stay with us again. We are thinking about ways that we could extend the breakfast time. Thank you for the suggestion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have not stayed in manybB&B's but would definitively stay again. Room was small but how much room do you need for sleeping and bed was very comfortable. Snacks always available, and a fresh home made banana cake after dinner out was fabulous.
Breakfast was excellent!!!
Great service, atmosphere, and a true value! Will return when we can

Henry from Winston Salem

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will come stay with us again. Some of our rooms are larger than others so if you would like more space let us know, we are happy to help you pick out a room perfect for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Address: 783 N. Main Street, Hendersonville, NC 28792
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1898 Waverly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.