We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melange Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melange Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Melange Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1230 Fifth Avenue West, Hendersonville, NC 28739   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vero Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

I was looking for a clean and comfortable place to spend a few days with my sister. What we found at Melange exceeded our expectations in every way. Lale and Mehmet treated us like royalty and yet we felt like members of the family from the moment we met them. The home is elegantly decorated in gorgeous antiques and rich in history, without being stuffy at all. The gardens are so lovely and peaceful. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and beautiful. They don't skimp on anything. Breakfast is about 3 courses of gourmet food and you will not need to eat lunch! They are happy to accomodate any special dietary needs you may have. Every evening, they brought an extaordinary dessert (from a 5 layer dark chocolate cake to a rich brownie/fudge loaded with hazelnuts) to our room. I know we both gained a few pounds because the food was so good and just plain irresistable...but who cares? We had an absolutely perfect time and I am looking forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    13
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
183
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed at Melange over Easter weekend. The location is great, a residential neighborhood just a few minutes from downtown Hendersonville. But what's much more important is the friendliness and the care each guest receives from the owners. They made us feel like royalty and a part of their family at the same time.

This is a grand house registered in the National Registory of Historic Places and it has great personality because of the way it's decorated. The decor includes the Ozelsel family's photos, paintings, and antique furniture, so you really feel like you are a "guest" as opposed to a "client." That is not to say that you are treated as anything but a VIP... Starting with the moment we arrived, they wanted to know about our interests and preferences to make sure our stay was pleasurable. After that they checked multiple times to see whether we needed anything else in our room and recommended great excursions as well as local restaurants.

The breakfast will tide you over until about 2:30pm.. because not only is it "gourmet"-quality but it is plentiful. The first day we were served fresh squeezed orange juice, hot tea (we were offered coffee as well), a baked apple stuffed with dried fruits wrapped in phyllo dough and topped with cranberry flavored whipped cream. That was just the first course. The second course was the "bird's nest": half a sesame bagel topped with 2 kinds of cheese, turkey, merengued (sp?) egg white and the yolk placed on top - and the whole thing baked. After that came the home made cookies. The second day's breakfast was equally great.

We stayed in the Rose Suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. It has every amenity you can imagine, including a large screen TV, DVD player, CD player and a surround sound system. We also peeked into the Emerald room and the Scarlet room, and they looked exquisite.

Upon the owners' recommendation, we went to the DuPont State Forest and Chimney Rock, both of which we very highly recommend. Make sure you bring your hiking shoes and a bottle of water with you - and maybe a power bar.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2005

We celebrated our anniversary at the Melange B&B in early December & had a wonderful experience. The house is lovely, exquisitely decorated with many of the owners pieces. We had fabulous meals & very comfortable accomodations. We would highly recommend being guests of the gracious hosts at Melange!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2004

Needing some much needed R & R, my wife and I thought of spending a few days in the North Carolina mountains. We consulted Trip advisor to see what others had thought of lodgings in the area. After considering several options, we decided on the Melange Bed and Breakfast, which had received impressive reviews from several guests. Having just returned from our visit, we can say that those reviews, as positive as they were, did not do the Melange justice. It is simply the best B & B we have visited. The rooms have all the amenities and each has a disinctive character; the breakfasts are creative and sumnptuous and easily the most memorable we have had on any of our trips; and the hosts, Mehmet and Lale, are the kind of people one would like as friends. They are not only extremely accommodating and informative but possess personalities as distinctive and charming as their wonderful home. If you want a stay at bed and breakfast that is out of the ordinary, by all means check out their website and make a reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2004

We spent our amazing honeymoon in Hendersonville, NC. just outside Asheville.
If you ever want to be luxuriously pampered forget the Biltmore.... the Mélange Bed and Breakfast is the place for you. Lale and Mehmet are positively World Class! You will not find any better people! I can attest to that after traveling a good portion of the world. Treat yourself to the best and see them in Hendersonville, NC. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2004

Truly a grand house with the most comfortable rooms I have ever stayed in. The amenities were outstanding.Our hosts Mehmet and Layle are not Southerners but they know what southern hospitality is and how to display it.We'll go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melange Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1230 Fifth Avenue West, Hendersonville, NC 28739
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melange Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melange is a refreshing setting with European flair modeled after eco-friendly boutique hotels. Secluded and private, yet within walking distance to Downtown Hendersonville, this historic old grandeur and its classic gardens provide the perfect ambiance for intimate vacations, celebrations and romantic weddings, alike. Guests enjoy gourmet breakfast and upscale amenities in 4-king size guest rooms and in a bridal suite with 2 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melange Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melange b&b
Melange Hotel Hendersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melange Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.