We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melange Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melange Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Melange Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1230 Fifth Avenue West, Hendersonville, NC 28739   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern Pines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a most delightful experience at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast in Hendersonville, N.C.
The hosts, Lale and Mehmet went out of their way to make our stay delightful.
Highly recommend this welcoming and enchanting bed and breakfast as the only place to stay in Hendersonville. YOu will not be disappointed.
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Mehmet was extremely helpful when we needed directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afyonlu, Owner at Melange Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank You. Lale and I are delighted that your stay at the Melange to attend the "Embrace the Fabulous You" conference in Fletcher was most comfortable and look forward towards hosting you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    14
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
190
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our daughter's wedding ceremony and reception were held here and it met all our expectations and more. The innkeepers with their efficient and friendly staff made us feel like one big family working together to make this occasion so special. The accommodations were very comfortable and had every amenity. The food was delicious--breakfasts, cocktail hour and dinner--and beautifully displayed. We have stayed in many B&B's in many states and this is the best! Hendersonville has great restaurants and a fun downtown,too--and close to Asheville, Chimney Rock and the Parkway.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you want a porch,too, choose the Emerald or Scarlett room. We loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afyonlu, Owner at Melange Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words. Lale and I have immensely enjoyed working for and with your whole family. Congratulations and best of health, happiness and luck to the newly-weds in "Down Under."
Caroline's BIG DAY day cemented itself in the Melange's record books by being the most high tech wedding to date when the event was transmitted live from the gardens all the way to Australia over SKYPE .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have visited the Melange for the past two Christmas/New Years holidays and have enjoyed
the comforts and ammenities of the bed and breakfast. But the hospitality of the innkeepers,
Imelt and Lale, are so very special. They made us feel so welcome and at home. Always
offering coffee and treats by the wonderful fireplace. Breaksfasts are awesome without making
you feel guilty about calories.Great for weddings and special occasions. Must be even more
special during the spring and summer with all the gardens in bloom. The town of Hendersonvile, NC
is also very quaint with several very good restaurants to choose from. Short drive to Asheville
and Brevard makes it a very good place to vacation year round. We highly recommend staying
at the Melange. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in the suite on the third floor. Would be very good for a couple with two children or two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melange8, Owner at Melange Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank You. It is immensely gratifying for Lale and myself that the new year's first review came from both of you who radiate happiness and grace. I also appreciate that you did on give me grief on LSU's loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at Melange is a delightful experience, one I enjoyed immensely. While I selected it because the photographs on line were appealing, the idea of the Scarlett Room was intriguing, and the option of being able dine there (by advance reservation) on what read like a delicious menu, was a nice option. Beyond that, I really did not know what to expect.

What I found, I loved! It's a grand, well-maintained old house, reminiscent of Hendersonville when it was the summer get-away for the wealthy escaping city and coastal heat. The sunroom, conservatory, and the architectual details are remarkable. The common rooms are large and many; the guest rooms are lovely.

What I liked was the Turkish influence brought to the otherwise Victorian decor by the graciousTurkish owners, Mehmet and Lale Ozelsel. It was grand, personal, over-the-top with interesting things everywhere. The Scarlet Room, glowing scarlet with deep garnet brocade wallpaper, a claret brocade duvet covering a comfortable King size poster bed, a fabulous, comfortable,tufted, deep rose chaise and ornate lamps, lived up to my vivid imagination.

While the late November weather was too chilly to enjoy it, there is an appealing large balcony with comfortable wicker chaises off the second floor Scarlet Room overlooking the expansive gardens - very Victorian. That being said, the bathroom is fully modern, with the best shower system ever!

From the moment we were met at the entrance by Mahmet, I knew this was the right place for us. Ever-gracious, he and Lale made us feel at home and special. Each morning, a delicious breakfast made by Lale was served in the pleasant, large sunroom, and one night we experienced one of her dinners - Turkish/Mediterranean delicious.

Melange is a great mix of old Victorian elegance and European charm, placed in the North Carolina foothills, with Main Street Hendersonville just a few blocks away. It's a special place - all the way around.

Room Tip: The online descriptions are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a stunning home on a lovely street in Hendersonville. You'll get lost in the maze, but the wonderful innkeepers are incredibly helpful in getting you to your room. What a wonderful couple who owns this enormous place....they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are so friendly and kind.

So, why didn't I give it 5 stars? Our room was a bit run down. The furnishings are a bit heavy for my taste, a mixture of this and that from all over the world and too many family photos everywhere. It was more like staying at a rich eccentric aunt's house than a lovingly restored inn filled with glorious antiques. The Inn has evolved into quite the wedding venue, and it is, in my humble opinion, more perfect for that sort of event. They have a lovely garden area and are able to accommodate a large number of guests.

Cleanliness is not up to par; there were a few stray hairs in the bathroom and the water would not get hot. It was a chilly evening and taking a lukewarm bath was not fun. They were so kind that I didn't want to bother them and it was late when I took a bath, so just felt uncomfortable with the bathroom situation. The sink had a crack in it, some of the fixtures were worn....it's showing its age and needs a more thorough cleaning.

Breakfast was wonderful, served in a lovely room, but there was talk overheard about an upcoming wedding and I just got the feeling, once again, that inn guests were not their first priority.

If you're looking for a gorgeous inn in Hendersonville in which to have a wedding, this is indeed the spot....it's magnificent and I'm very certain that the innkeepers will do everything they can to make sure it's a memorable day for you.

Room Tip: Ask about hot water situation when booking; it may have been a fluke experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned from a 2-night stay at the Melange while visiting my family in the area for Thanksgiving. The Inn is beautiful and in a great location - it is not walking distance to downtown, but that was fine with me - it's close enough, and probably quieter than places closer to downtown. Even in the winter, the grounds are gorgeous and must be spectacular in the spring. The hosts are friendly and accommodating, and they were very gracious regarding our unpredictable schedule & plans. The Rose Suite was beautiful, and breakfast was simply awesome both days. I loved the fact that there are a few friendly cats on the premises. All in all, a wonderful experience. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a wonderful find. We felt so welcome. The B&B is a visual treat! Breakfast was awesome.
Mehmet and Lala are so kind. Mehemt waited up for us with a piece of birthday cake for my husband. We would definitely return. Pat and Bryan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melange Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1230 Fifth Avenue West, Hendersonville, NC 28739
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melange Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melange is a refreshing setting with European flair modeled after eco-friendly boutique hotels. Secluded and private, yet within walking distance to Downtown Hendersonville, this historic old grandeur and its classic gardens provide the perfect ambiance for intimate vacations, celebrations and romantic weddings, alike. Guests enjoy gourmet breakfast and upscale amenities in 4-king size guest rooms and in a bridal suite with 2 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Melange Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melange Hotel Hendersonville
Melange b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melange Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.