We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely gracious hosts; better to have a wedding than stay a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melange Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melange Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Melange Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1230 Fifth Avenue West, Hendersonville, NC 28739   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Extremely gracious hosts; better to have a wedding than stay a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a stunning home on a lovely street in Hendersonville. You'll get lost in the maze, but the wonderful innkeepers are incredibly helpful in getting you to your room. What a wonderful couple who owns this enormous place....they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are so friendly and kind.

So, why didn't I give it 5 stars? Our room was a bit run down. The furnishings are a bit heavy for my taste, a mixture of this and that from all over the world and too many family photos everywhere. It was more like staying at a rich eccentric aunt's house than a lovingly restored inn filled with glorious antiques. The Inn has evolved into quite the wedding venue, and it is, in my humble opinion, more perfect for that sort of event. They have a lovely garden area and are able to accommodate a large number of guests.

Cleanliness is not up to par; there were a few stray hairs in the bathroom and the water would not get hot. It was a chilly evening and taking a lukewarm bath was not fun. They were so kind that I didn't want to bother them and it was late when I took a bath, so just felt uncomfortable with the bathroom situation. The sink had a crack in it, some of the fixtures were worn....it's showing its age and needs a more thorough cleaning.

Breakfast was wonderful, served in a lovely room, but there was talk overheard about an upcoming wedding and I just got the feeling, once again, that inn guests were not their first priority.

If you're looking for a gorgeous inn in Hendersonville in which to have a wedding, this is indeed the spot....it's magnificent and I'm very certain that the innkeepers will do everything they can to make sure it's a memorable day for you.

Room Tip: Ask about hot water situation when booking; it may have been a fluke experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    13
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
183
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned from a 2-night stay at the Melange while visiting my family in the area for Thanksgiving. The Inn is beautiful and in a great location - it is not walking distance to downtown, but that was fine with me - it's close enough, and probably quieter than places closer to downtown. Even in the winter, the grounds are gorgeous and must be spectacular in the spring. The hosts are friendly and accommodating, and they were very gracious regarding our unpredictable schedule & plans. The Rose Suite was beautiful, and breakfast was simply awesome both days. I loved the fact that there are a few friendly cats on the premises. All in all, a wonderful experience. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a wonderful find. We felt so welcome. The B&B is a visual treat! Breakfast was awesome.
Mehmet and Lala are so kind. Mehemt waited up for us with a piece of birthday cake for my husband. We would definitely return. Pat and Bryan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs in locations around the world, and Melange quickly became one of our all-time favorites. I've been trying to put my finger on why. We were there for our anniversary weekend and couldn't have made a better choice. The historic home is elegant and beautiful, yet immediately intimate and welcoming. You could spend your entire stay roaming from room to room discovering the beautiful and eclectic pieces that make up the "melange" of decor put together by hosts Lale and Mahmet. We stayed in the Emerald room - a wonderful room with a private porch - but checked out all of the rooms, and would have happily stayed in any of them. Lale is a fantastic chef - breakfasts were perfection, and we indulged in one of their five-course private champagne dinners, which we couldn't recommend more highly. One of the best meals we've ever had. Finally, we thoroughly enjoyed meeting and talking with Lale and Mahmet - they manage just the right blend of genuine friendliness and interest in you while providing the space and privacy to comfortably enjoy your stay in their home. We give our highest recommendation to Melange B&B and very much hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I went to Hendersonville on business, and the owners and staff of Melange made me feel like family. After coming "home", from my job interview I didn't even get to my room before I was asked how the interview went. I have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast, but I have stayed in many fine hotels. What made this incredible experience distinct was not just the beautiful room and amazing food, but instead the caring that I felt from everyone there. Thank you and I hope to visit again.

Frank

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I, along with another couple, visited in September. The location was great - very close to shopping and restaurants. The hosts were superb - there for our every need and concern. Wonderful breakfast in a beautiful setting. Stayed in the Emerald Room and enjoyed the balcony as well as the well-kept grounds. Would definitely return if we have the opportunity.

Harry and Desna J.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend for our 10-year anniversary. It was beautiful! Our hosts were incredibly gracious; the food was delectable; the room was gorgeous (Emerald Room); our large porch had a lovely view; we felt very welcomed! We LOVE this place and will absolutely stay there again (just as soon we can bribe my parents into watching our two small kids again!) Thank you to Lale and Mehmet for our truly wonderful experience! Kind regards, Lisa & Jack B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melange Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1230 Fifth Avenue West, Hendersonville, NC 28739
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melange Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melange is a refreshing setting with European flair modeled after eco-friendly boutique hotels. Secluded and private, yet within walking distance to Downtown Hendersonville, this historic old grandeur and its classic gardens provide the perfect ambiance for intimate vacations, celebrations and romantic weddings, alike. Guests enjoy gourmet breakfast and upscale amenities in 4-king size guest rooms and in a bridal suite with 2 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melange Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melange b&b
Melange Hotel Hendersonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melange Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.