We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay if you are visiting Flat Rock or Hendersonville!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CedarWood Inn

CedarWood Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hendersonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CedarWood Inn
Save
You added CedarWood Inn to your Saves list
1510 Greenville Highway, Hendersonville, NC 28793   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hendersonville
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best place to stay if you are visiting Flat Rock or Hendersonville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My family is from Hendersonville. I have been going there for over 50 years and have stayed at most of the Hotels and Bed and Breakfast, but when we came up on CedarWood Inn we fell in love. You felt like family not just a room number plus the price is less expensive. For breakfast Karen makes you feel you are at home with.a tasty breakfast. Karen (the owner) is an absolute delight. I guarantee she knows the area and can answer any questions you have. The location is so convenient to the best of restaurants, shopping, hiking and etc. Nancy Long

.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
At the bottom of all our correspondence, in our website, and on all our information sheets in each room there is a sentence, "where you are treated like family." This has been my goal all along and, Nancy, you have warmed the cockles of my heart by describing your thoughts of our little slice of heaven on Greenville Hwy. Thank you for your special comments. It's difficult to stay "professional" when your extended family grows and flourishes with each guest that joins our breakfast table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently spent Saturday and Sunday night at the CedarWood Inn . Everything was just as advertised. I was totally pleased. The location was convenient to Hendersonville, Flat Rock and even Ashville. Breakfast each morning was delicious with a large variety to choose from and the company was excellent. It was fun to meet other guest and share sightseeing experiences. I look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It's rewarding to hear people want to come back. That's our #1 goal. We will always welcome back our "alumni."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just returned from a great weekend in Hendersonville, NC staying at CedarWood Inn. It is exceptional, very clean, cozy, located close to everything you want to do. The owner treats you as a guest in her home. The morning continental breakfast felt like you were eating in the kitchen with your family. More food that one could eat. Numerous choices with something for everyone. The coffee is exceptional. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is tired of the same old motel/hotel experience. You will leave feeling like you were welcome and appreciated. Will return in the early Spring and I plan on staying for a week. Thanks!
Paula C

Room Tip: Look on line, you can pick out the room that fits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am continually impressed with guests who take the time to write about the CedarWood Inn. Especially with the breakfast experience, because they add as much fun and interest as anything we do for them. It's Leaf Season and Apple Cider time, Hendersonville's best season of all! Thank you for taking time to share your experiences. Look forward to more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sept 6, 2013. Me and the Wife enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Cedarwood Inn. Enjoyed morning breakfast with the owner. Headed out each morning to do something different. Downtown Hendersonville, Mast General store, apple farms and Chimney Rock. Did not get around to some other suggested locations. Nice and quiet evenings back at the Cedarwood Inn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of our CedarWood Inn. We are so glad you had a pleasant stay and were able to do so many things in our area. It's also fun for us to hear of everyone's adventures each morning. No are no matter how many times you enjoy Hendersonville, NC there's always something new and exciting going on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this inn. We found it to be as advertised, which was awesome! We happened to come right after Labor Day so we had the place pretty much to ourselves, since the leaves have not atarted turning yet, and the kids have all gone back to school.

We like to pick apples in Flat Rock and this place was pnly minutes away from SkyTop Orchard!

The owner is awesome. The rooms were clean, and at breakfast, she(the owner actully sat down and talked with us! I enjoyed the conversations we had as much as anything else we did. The rates were similar to any hotel you might stay in, but the atmosphere was totally more relaxed.

My kids, wife and I relly enjoyed the time and would definitely recommend it. Take the time to visit the actual website of this inn, so you will understand what you are booking. If you are looking for a Hilton, this is not it, and they don't claim to be. It is just a great, clean, quiet and freindly place to stay! Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Room number 30 (there are thirty rooms) has the only screened in porch. It is a single double bed r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I'm late in responding to the review of your September stay with us. My apologies but Leaf Season has started with a flourish. You nailed so many of the local attributes for our location and this area still holds so many more experiences to try. I also enjoy the breakfast table conversations. There is such a richness in slowing down and getting to know fellow travelers. Even though we have a room #30 we only have 18 rooms. Somewhere in its history this 1950's motor court started with room #11. True to a long ago practice accommodations businesses would never have a room #13, and that is the case here. Better safe than sorry I guess. Room #30 is one of our largest, with 1 King bed, full kitchen, sitting area and outside screened porch overlooking the Shuffleboard and Horse Shoe areas. We hope you do get that opportunity to relax in it some day. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Charming little cottages, super clean and so close to downtown Hendersonville, you can practically walk to it. Located in town right on Greenville Highway, but don't let that scare you, it is VERY quiet. There is a gazebo with grill to enjoy and most cabins have a little porch. The owner was very helpful and the breakfast each morning was excellent, lots of fresh fruit and bread choices. The rooms are sweet and simple, ours was very small but we only slept and showered there so if you need a posh large upscale room, don't look here, but if you want quiet, charming, well kept, clean, half B&B and half motor inn, you will love it here. Oh some websites say they have a pool but it is gone. They do have a fabulous covered area for a hammock where I slept and listened to a thunderstorm : - )

Room Tip: Rooms from 14 and on up are away from the main road. #17 does not have its own porch but is shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'm always excited to hear guests' experiences at the CedarWood Inn. The comments you make allow us to fine tune and improve what we offer. Your kind words are much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to post them. You did something I have wanted to do for so long, take a nap in the hammock. Our 18 rooms range from 188 sf to 406 sf and this may be something I need to add to website. An amazing thing about 1950s construction -- close the door and you hear NO traffic on Greenville Hwy even in the unit closest to road! Wood, one of the best insulators, was this areas most plentiful resource back then and they built things to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having been "on the road" for two weeks in chain hotels.. this was a much needed surprise! Charming and super clean little cabins in a wooded setting. Karen, the owner, was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the event room was great. When I return to Hendersonville, I will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Owner at CedarWood Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Your comments were greatly appreciated and a validation of everything we try to provide at the CedarWood Inn. A true WNC experience from the 1950s. Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to post your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CedarWood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CedarWood Inn

Address: 1510 Greenville Highway, Hendersonville, NC 28793
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between Historic Downtown Hendersonville and Historic Flat Rock, close to Flat Rock Playhouse, DuPont State Forest, Carl Sandburg's Connemara, Pisgah Forest, Blue Ridge Parkway, only a two-hour drive to anywhere in WNC. Shopping, restaurants, music, plays, outdoor activities, etc. Enjoy beautiful seasonal changes in the Smokey Mountains. Rooms are clean and comfortable with daily housekeeping, ground level with parking at your door, continental breakfast in our Event Room allows a relaxed atmosphere in which you get to know your fellow travelers and share experiences.Porches, shuffleboard, horse shoes, gazebo with charcoal grill, picnic shelter. CedarWood Inn -- where you're treated like family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CedarWood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.