We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs G and Me

Mrs G and Me
502 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5070
828-697-5350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 156 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Lewisville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The cream of mushroom soup was wonderful and salads were good as well. Only one waiter but he ran around and made sure everyone was tended to. I will come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    8
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Park, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“get out the scrub brushes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went recently for dinner. Food was okay - not much spice kind of simple. Staff was very friendly as was Mrs. G who came through the dining room to greet guest. The condition of the restaurant is in need of a good cleaning - HVAC vents were extremely dirty, there was a mildew smell when we first entered, curtains which should be taken down looked dirty, the outside awning is torn in several spots, the area where the restrooms are located is used as a storage area for what looks like either broken or certainly dirty not used items. Overall the business should remodel the dining area reducing the size of the bar and relocating it away from the front, remove the worn carpet and the huge chef figure which looks more scary than welcoming. It is a shame that the restaurant is in the state that it is given a great location on Main Street Hendersonville. I'd give it a try again only after seeing signs of reconditioning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hville_girl, Owner at Mrs G and Me, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
THANK YOU for your comments. We would like to respond.

Yes, our awning is torn. We are in the process of fixing this and are currently getting quotes. Recent very heavy rain did create a hole in it. And our huge losses over the winter (with the construction on Main Street) have not helped our ability to spend thousands on an awning.

We really appreciate your noticing the HVAC vents and will instruct the staff to 'look up'! You are completely correct. We did not know about dirty or unused things being kept by the bathrooms, this will also be double checked.

We have curtains at the front windows to help keep out the sun as it begins to set in the west. The are not dirty however. They are washed regularly but are beige in color and for that reason could appear dirty.

We are proud of our great reviews and consistent Health Department ratings of 97.5 or above. Our kitchen is clean, clean, clean. But we have every intention of taking your comments to heart and try to look after the little things.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mrs G and Me friendly to kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently took my wife, son and his wife, and their two children (aged five) to this restaurant. The food was really good and they treated the children like queens. We all enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coughing man behind bar ruined our food and wine.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Having enjoyed lunch before, despite slow service and a unimaginative decore, we decided to give the place a second try so dropped in for a glass of wine and light dinner. We decided to sit at the bar but instead of relaxing and unwinding, found ourselves repeatedly coughed on by the man serving us behind the bar. It was unnerving to think of the germs he so freely shared. We will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hville_girl, Owner at Mrs G and Me, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We must respond to this review with only one comment. We have no males working in the dining room. The last male we had working in the dining room was about six months ago and believe you are confusing us with another restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I came to Hendersonville to celebrate our anniversary. We had eaten at Mrs.G's on a previous visit and decided to go again. We were not disappointed. We arrived about 5:30 without a reservation and were disappointed that they were going to be very busy. After looking at her list, we were told to come at 6 and she would take care of us! When we arrived, we were shown to the window seat where we had sat before. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was delicious. We both had the filet which was cooked just as we requested. The carrots and potatoes were yummy, too. We had a great dinner and we appreciated being worked in as the restaurant was full when we left. We will return the next time we are in town!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs G and Me also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mrs G and Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs G and Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.