We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NC Wines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burntshirt Vineyards

Burntshirt Vineyards
2695 Sugarloaf Road, Hendersonville, NC 28792
828-685-2402
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Feel the serenity when you drive in one of NC's newest vineyards surrounded by apple orchards and 19 acres of grapes. Enjoy a tasting of our 7 award-winning wines for only $7, and take home a complimentary glass etched with our logo. Feel free to bring your picnic lunch to pair with a glass of wine on our terrace or picnic tables. Don't forget to take home a bottle of Burntshirt wine, sold only at our tasting room.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great NC Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Decided to head to Burntshirt later in the day and it was crowded. Found out it was the first day they released their new apple wine. We did a wine tasting, 7 wines for $7 and it was good. Like any tasting some we liked some we did not. Overall we thought it was and excellent experience. The only downside is there is only one winery tour per day at 2pm.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I've recently taken to liking wine, and have done 2 tastings in the past. This was my third, and has started a trend! We stopped in for a wine tasting, which has become a new tradition when my best friend comes to town to visit. The gardens surrounding the tasting room are incredible and well maintained. The staff was friendly, and even recommended another winery about 3 miles away, as well as giving us a state and local area winery guide. The wine was delicious too! I would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The vineyard is in a very nice setting with tables outside after your tasting. They have a nice shop that has many vineyard type items. The staff was very nice but did not know a lot about wine parings. We sampled seven wines with two being whites a blush and four reds. The staff was knowledgeable about the grapes in their wines. We bought a bottle some cheese and crackers and sat outside and enjoyed the late afternoon. Recommend this place highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“NC is Breaking into the Wine Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Burntshirt is another year older and so are the vines. The wines are taking on some added complexities and many varieties are available. Not only has the vines matured but so has the winery. It is always awesome to stand on the Veranda and look out over the vineyards and orchards. The pressing room and aging tanks are completely installed, The tasting rooms expanded and private entertainment areas have been added or improved. Burntshirt is a worthwhile visit, even if you don't sip gifts of the vines!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In vino veritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This vineyard is a hidden gem that more people need to discover. I went for a wine tasting in July. The cost was only $7 and I felt it was well worth it. The atmosphere is quaint and beautiful, and the girl doing the tasting was funny and great to talk to - not to mention, the wine is fantastic! I was also able to tour the facility, which is small, but the tour was very informative. I learned a lot about the wine-making process.
Although it hasn't been in operation very long, the staff is charming and friendly and the wine is fantastic. I can't say anything negative about my experience here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burntshirt Vineyards also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Burntshirt Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burntshirt Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.