We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to pay attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Square Root

Square Root
111 S. Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28712
828-693-7758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 158 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Hendersonville, The Square Root Restaurant is a contemporary and cozy location to enjoy fabulous food. Our atmosphere is inviting for romantic evenings, cocktails with friends, and family gatherings. We pride ourselves on serving locally roasted coffee from The Brown Bean, and we offer several local brews on tap and by the bottle. Menu choices include options to please the young and the old, the adventurous and the picky eaters, and anyone who enjoys delicious fresh food at reasonable prices. We also offer a full bar with extensive wine and cocktail choices.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Need to pay attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went in for lunch a little after 1p on Jan 22, there was only one visible server and although we stood at the front for several minutes, no one looked our way or was available to seat us. There were several people dining at the time, but didn't appear crowded. We left for another restaurant. This on top of the cold "hot" soup we were served on the prior dining occasion, not good omens for the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
western north caolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“slipping............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

this was our third time at the restaurant and the food preparation is slipping fast. the night we were in the place was run by kids and it showed. the waitress was fine, but the food was mediocre at best...dry, tepid eggplant parm, soggy ravioli w/ too much sauce. the owners better get back in there or the place will fail. you cant open a restaurant w/ good staff and then let them go, particularly in the kitchen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb lunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I just visited Square Root on Main Street in Hendersonville and were very, very pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent! I arrived before my friend and was asked if I'd like to be seated while waiting - the hostess even said she would make sure my friend would find me when she arrived. I was served a glass of water w/lemon while I waited. When my friend came we chatted and the waitress kept checking on us to see if we were ready to order. The menu was excellent with many, many choices in several categories. I chose the Turkey Reuben and my friend chose a Cobb Salad - both were excellent. No complaints and when we told the waitress this was our first time there she mentioned that they had a second restaurant in Brevard and both are family owned and operated. I highly recommend Square Root if you're in Hendersonville!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Interesting tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ate here last weekend with my two kids. Service was friendly and attentive. My daughter had possibly the best burger she's ever had. My eggplant parmesan sandwich? TO DIE FOR. Mac and cheese was awesome. Located towards the end of the fun strip in Hendersonville and certainly reasonable (at lunch) and worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Square Root a couple of weeks ago to use a LivingSocial coupon we had. It was well worth it. The food was delicious! We had the brie and apple appetizer and it was like dessert! Our dinner was great and our server was fantastic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Root also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Square Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Root, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.