We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baba ganouj in the Blue Ridge Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pita Express

Pita Express
1034 C Greenville Highway, Hendersonville, NC
828-696-9818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 156 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Baba ganouj in the Blue Ridge Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I learned to love middle-east cuisine both in New York and in Israel. It was a pleasant surprise to have a restaurant serving this food in authentic and well-prepared versions right here in Hendersonville. Lina and Mohammed have created a delightful ambience in a store-front setting. Every time I have been there for lunch I have had to wait in line. The menu includes dishes from several eastern Mediterranean countries. Prices are reasonable. And, oh yes, the meat is halal and also kosher.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh, Healthy and Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

L-O-V-E Pita Express!! I have been a regular for years and am still so happy to have a place to eat a healthy, vegetarian meal. They have chicken, lamb, and beef, but for those of us who do not eat much meat, they also serve several vegetarian options, namely the Vegetarian Plate. The lemon and parsley rich tabouli is my hands down favorite salad around, and the falafel (chickpea patties) and grilled pitas are wonderful. And the desserts!

Mediterranean/Middle Eastern food can be an acquired taste. They use spices, herbs, and flavorings we aren't necessarily used to here. I for one totally love it, but if you are with someone who is not too sure or adventurous, they also offer a selection of standard American lunch fare.

Keep in mind that it is only the kind and hard-working husband/wife team who operate the entire restaurant. They are originally from Jordan and have been in the food industry for many, many years. If they aren't right at the counter, they will be out shortly. They are open for lunches M-Sat, and dinner only on Friday night at this time. It is a little hole in the wall, not a large or fancy place, but rather a fun, kitschy place dedicated to healthy soul food and good service. Bringing a little sample of the Middle East to Hendersonville.

PS) And, yes, as another reviewer mentioned, if you are an hour south in Greenville, SC, you HAVE to go to the Pita House. Oh.My.Gosh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brings back my childhood. ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ok I grew up on this kind of food and when I moved I thought id only get this kind of yummy delight once a year when I vist family in Florida. I walk into this place and immediately felt welcome. I always get this tomato dish you dip pita bread in. Its the arab version of fried tomatoes but not the southern kind. Tomato and garlic are the main ingredients. Gyros are to die for and the hot mint tea you wont be able to drink fast enough. The owners are a fantastic. Yes you will easily spend 9 bucks there but its sooooooo worth it! And when they have them GET THE GRAPE LEAVES!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh veggies, but standard fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Have tried this place a few times over the years and want to like it. The owner is very personable and the ingredients are always fresh, but the food falls short. Is it tasty? Yes. Is it authentic, homemade Middle Eastern/Mediterranean food? No. Having lived in an area with a large selection of excellent Middle Eastern/Mediterranean restaurants (from hole-in-the-wall to upscale), I know how good this food can be.

I ordered the gyro plate because the photo on the menu board depicted the real deal: hand-formed and spiced meat roasted on a vertical spit. What was served was the commercial loaf-style gyro meat you see on menus everywhere. Misleading and disappointing. This combined with the fact that they use plain ol' ripe black olives rather than Kalamata or other regional olives and offer no homemade touches like hot sauce or pickled veg puts this place off the go-to list for me.

If you're just looking for a fresh and healthy veggie-based meal, this place is a fine choice. But, until they at least start springing for Kalamatas, I'll make the trip down to Pita House in Greenville for those extra touches and food that's a little more true to it's roots.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shellvalencia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The food is soooo good here, I have the Mediterranian plate its delicious. This restruant is in my top 3 fav. Places to eat. The service is excellent, a husband and wife team.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Express also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pita Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.