We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Deli

Mountain Deli
343 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-4902
828-693-0093
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Upstate South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wonderful food, antiques, atmosphere. Love the pit carved ham! Usually end up buying one of the antiques for sale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Deli Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fast, friendly service and great sandwiches hand made in front of you. They also serve salads and soups and have daily specials. Be aware that in summer, I thing late July - Aug. they take an extended break and are closed. Have eaten there several times, never disappointed and will gladly go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches and a great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The sandwich we ordered was a hot ham and cheese on sub roll and it was fantastic. I know that it would not rival a northern deli, but getting fresh sliced incredible flavored ham sliced thinly with a great cheese and getting it hot, not over-toasted is a feat in North Carolina. This is a deli where you get personal service. I am picky and cannot eat peppers, black pepper amongst other things, so I was impressed when the guy said that I would not want the bacon on my sandwich since it was cured in pepper. He was actually listening! Saved me from having to pick it off yet another sandwich. My friend loved her veggie sandwich and my husband thought that watching the prep of sandwiches was in and of itself a show. We visit Hendersonville a couple times a year and will be back for more. My hubby had buyers remorse because he saw the guy across from us with a corned beef sandwich to die for....he wanted to order one then and there but we were too full. Next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Working close to the deli, I have tried just about everything on the menu and I have never been disappointed. The key is to try the combinations as they are described instead of picking just the things you think you will like. Dave has great combination ideas and the manager's special that changes daily is always a good pick. The hot carved roast beef is fabulous. Although the lines can be really long, they always move fast and you are in and out in no time. Don't pass up the Mountain Deli the next time you are on Main Street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average deli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Coming from a large city this deli is less than impressive you getknow food quickly amd a very friendly staff but nothing special

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Deli also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mountain Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.