We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem with a Beautiful Lake View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hendersonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Lake Inn
Save
You added Mountain Lake Inn to your Saves list
801 N Lakeside Drive, Hendersonville, NC 28739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem with a Beautiful Lake View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed in a one bedroom cabin this August 2011. I was thrilled to find the cabin spotlessly clean. Sometimes older places are dirty, this was not the case with Mountain Lake Inn. The bedding was soft, the pillows perfect and I loved the sounds of the woods at night.

The lake is just a few feet away. Todd the owner is VERY generous in letting you have free use of the "lake toys". I took a kayak out one evening and my daughter and I used the family canoe and peddle boat. What fun!

Thank you for for sharing your WONDERFUL home with us. We WILL be back!

Room Tip: Very Clean and well Kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I am actually sitting in a hammock on the property as I write this review. I am looking at a small mountain lake, have a great breeze going, and am having a very relaxing time of it. The lake was definitely the draw for us and the proximity to downtown Hendersonville (5 min by car to main street). This property is like a camp for families. You can swim in the lake, get out on a small boat, swing in a hammock, or sit by the shore in a chair. Then tonight we are going into Hendersonville for dinner and to the new Flat Rock Theatre downtown location. We are in the middle of apple country (went apple picking earlier today) and are close to Chimney Rock and Brevard.

The place is rustic but charming. A small kitchen, small living space, and bedroom were in our cabin. You need to bring your own shampoo but aside from that, the kitchen has utensils and plates and cookware.

The owners and managers have been friendly and welcoming.

Not high end accommodations but clean and friendly. We will definitely be back and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I was looking to get away with a few friends and just relax and recharge, and The Mountain Lake in was the perfect get away. There are many great outdoor activities to do all within close range. There are great restaurants just a few minutes from the lake, and although you feel like you are cut off from reality, you are super close to anything you could want.

We all had a super time and could not have asked for a better escape. We had a great trip and really loved our time in the mountains. I could see where this would also be a great family vacation. There was something for every one to do there.

There is no greater gift you can give yourself than sitting outside looking at the lake...it's a real treat!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We just had a family renunion at this beautiful, tranquil lake and we plan to all come back again next year. The kids & grandkids loved the lake and spent all day out on the canoe, kyaks and fishing off the dock. Great place with cute rustic cabins and located close to everything we needed. Can't wait to return again.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Everyone knows about the great NC-Mountain weather in the summer, and staying at The Mountain lake Inn completes the deal. Where else could you have your own 1.8 mile jogging/walking course around the prettiest lake in the Hendersonville area? Where else are you going to find a beach, ski boat, playak, paddle boat, and loads of other waterfront parafernalia, at your beckon call? Then there is/are the cookout(s) and campfires to carry you into the evenings. The view of the lake is breath-taking and if you are into hiking &/or waterfalls, Biltmore Forest and Pisgah National Forest are just minutes away. The MLInn is located three minutes away from the new-revitalized town of Hendersonville, featuring great eateries, or the happening city of Asheville, within easy driving distance.
And besides all of the afforementioned, there is the host (Leoni) family, who cannot do enough for you to make your stay a memorable one. And in ending, try to find a more reasonably-priced vacation retreat in this area of North Carolina?! Yes, it sure does "FeelLlike Camp".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great family getaway! We have been to the Mountain Lake Inn four Summers in a row and plan on continuing the tradition for the rest of our lives. The Inn is rustic and relaxing with a wonderful view of Lake Osceola. My wife an I walk the 1.6 mile loop around the lake every morning, not only for the exercise but also to see the bunnies and squirrels, a great escape from the city. Our childern play in the lake throughout the day, using the vast array of kayaks, canoes and rafts. Hendersonville is a great little town with many wonderful dining options, antiquing and shopping. Can't wait until next summer. D.Z NYC

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a family reunion here. I think there are 12 main cabins that are attached and one main house. Each cabin has a different look. My favorite cabins are 10 and 11. Not only are the cabins great, but the lake that sits in front of the cabins is beautiful. Every morning you wake up to a picture perfect postcard of the lake. I highly recommend
the Leoni's mountain Lake in for Family reunions and family vacations.
This was an incredible experience!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Inn

Address: 801 N Lakeside Drive, Hendersonville, NC 28739
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gracious hosts, AJ and Todd Leoni, look forward to sharing their own personal haven with you. This is a place where you can come to relax and find peace in today’s hectic world. The main house serves as the private residence of the Leoni family. The estate goes on to boast a lovely gathering of eleven one-bedroom cottages, circa 1920. Our pleasing cottages look out on beautiful Lake Osceola. The lake presents 1.6 miles of shoreline to explore. We encourage guests to use our canoe and paddleboat to enjoy the water. Fishing is permitted with a license. If boating and fishing aren’t your desire, rise early in the morning and let the mist on the lake take your breath away, or find an unfrequented place to sit, read and enjoy the quiet. Being only minutes from Main Street in Hendersonville you will be able to take advantage of all this charming town has to offer. Enjoy browsing our boutiques, antiquing or spend an evening on Main being entertained by live music at one of the many street dances. There are a wide variety of chef-owned restaurants to choose from for your dining pleasure. Day excursions to Brevard’s many waterfall trails and Asheville’s eclectic interests are a must. Check out our “things to do” page for many links to surrounding sites and activities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.