We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great American Dog

Great American Dog
808 Greenville Hwy, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5725
828-697-2266
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 151 restaurants in Hendersonville
Cuisines: American
Description: The phone number is (828) 697-2266
Restaurant details
Description: The phone number is (828) 697-2266
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Wow! A hot dog that is finally a hot dog! These are not your run of the mill dogs - Natural casing and grilling makes them a step above anything else in the area. Warm, soft buns and a variety really good additions make this place a definite go-to place for hot dogs.
Their menu is not limited to dogs and burgers though. The owner used to run a seafood restaurant up north and he now offers a good variety of hand breaded seafood and the like. I walked in past the sign that offered a lobster roll for sale. I thought to myself, "no way would I buy a lobster roll in a hot dog shop" but after seeing the cleanliness of their operation, tasting the rest of their food, and talking to them, I have to go back and give it a try. This place is a real hidden gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    18
    4
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“As they say, it's a great hot dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is fresh and tasty. I've never understood why nearby Hot Dog World gets so much more business. They also have a wide variety of sea food. Give it a try some time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hot Dog or Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This trip had the clam strips, very good! Our friends had the chicken tenders and cheeseburger. Everyone enjoyed their food, including the natural cut fries. Great place to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

very very good hotdogs perfect for that good hotdog craving. the red pepper relish is excellent our favorite place to have a hotdog and fries.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Verbal Assault”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I went to the great American Hotdog today, the day after elections. After going I realized that I must this story out. As soon as I walked through the door the owner immediately started in with her political views. I ignored most of them because I wanted to avoid political debating and just enjoy my hotdogs. However, one statement she made that I couldn't let slide was an inaccurate representation of our military and it's working. I am a veteran, I fought in war, and I don't appreciate someone using bull crap data to make their political views seem more applicable. God, do I regret disagreeing with her, for the next 10 minutes after that she verbally assaulted me. She would ask a question, when I tried to answer it, she would cut me off and ask another. I couldn't make a point because I kept getting cut off and she even went as far as to ask me about my family status and how much do I pay in taxes... I have never been so appalled in terms of customer service, behavior, and in general business tactics. It's a matter of tact, if you disagree with someone's point of view that's one thing, but to verbally assault your customer because you don't share their point of view is just ridiculous. I for one will never eat at this restaurant again and hope that I deter any who read this to avoid their restaurant and join my boycott. With any luck this outrageously poor behavior will be thinned from our great state through natural selection... Maybe then we can return to a state of polite behavior and good personal tact.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Dog also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Great American Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great American Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.